{{ article.title }}

Hall and Counts Named WCC All-Academic

Feb. 22, 2007

SAN BRUNO, CALIF. - Loyola Marymount junior Jennifer Hall and sophomore Corey Counts were named to the 2007 West Coast Conference Winter All-Academic teams for their performance both in the classroom and on the hardwood for the LMU basketball teams. The WCC all-academic teams honor some of the league's finest examples of the consummate scholar-athlete. Near the completion of each athletic season, the WCC selects an all-academic squad for each of the participating sponsored sports.

This year's women's group is highlighted by Hall, who named to the ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District VIII first team in February. Gonzaga?s Stephanie Hawk and Jami Bjorklund shared that honor with Hall., who leads the team in scoring and rebounding, and currently has a 3.79 GPA.

The transfer from Vanderbilt has had an outstanding first season with the Lions, averaging 13.0 points and 7.3 rebounds per game. She has connected on 45% of her shots from the field, and is among the nation's leaders with a .847 free throw shooting percentage. Hall is a Communication Studies major from Folsom, Calif.On the men's side, this season's Academic All-WCC squad also features five first-time selections in Gonzaga's David Pendergraft, LMU's Corey Counts, San Francisco's Danny Cavic, and Santa Clara's Scott Dougherty and Danny Pariseau.

Counts has gone from try-out walkon to a valuable member to the Lions' squad. He is the back-up point guard for the Lions who is averaging nearly 12 minutes a game in WCC play, ranking third on the team in assists with 28 with an assists-to-turnover ration of nearly 2 to 1. Counts has a 3.08 GPA and is an Economics major.

2007 WCC Women's Basketball All-Academic Team
Jami Bjorklund, GON
Dominique Carter, USF
Michelle Elliott, GON
Ashley Graham, SCU
Anne Graner, POR
Jennifer Hall, LMU
Stephanie Hawk, GON
Sabine Loewe, USD
Eghosa Obaiza, SMC
Lisa Olden, USF
Shay Rollins, USF
Lauren Shaughnessy, SMC
Rachel Warren, POR

2007 WCC Men's Basketball All-Academic Team
Danny Cavic, USF
Corey Counts, LMU
Ross DeRogatis, USD
Scott Dougherty, SCU
Mitch Henke, SCU
Joey Kaempf, SCU
Sean Mallon, GON
Danny Pariseau, SCU
David Pendergraft, GON
Vince Polakovic, USF
Ben Sullivan, POR