{{ article.title }}

WCC Tournament Women's Bracket Announced

March 1, 2008

Complete WBB Bracket in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

San Bruno, Calif. - With the conclusion of the West Coast Conference women's basketball regular season, conference squads now turn their attention to the WCC Tournament, which begins on Thursday, March 6 at the University of San Diego's Jenny Craig Pavilion.

Gonzaga captured its fourth straight regular season league crown this season, and will be the top seed in the WCC women's tournament. Santa Clara earned the No. 2 seed in the tournament with an 8-6 mark in league play, while host San Diego secured the No. 3 seed. Loyola Marymount received the No. 4 seed, and Saint Mary's is seeded No. 5. Portland and San Francisco are seeded No. 6 and No. 7, respectively, and Pepperdine rounds out the tournament field at No. 8.

Santa Clara will face San Francisco at 12:00 pm on Thursday to tip off the tournament, and will be followed by the Gonzaga vs. Pepperdine contest to wrap up the first session. San Diego begins the second session against Portland at 6:00 pm, followed by Loyola Marymount taking on Saint Mary's in the final game of the first day.

Teams will be re-seeded following the first round, and the semifinals will take place on Saturday, March 8 following a day off on Friday. Sunday's WCC Tournament championship game is slated for a 1:30 pm start, and will be broadcast live for the second straight season on College Sports Television (CSTV).

The 2008 WCC Tournament marks a return to San Diego's Jenny Craig Pavilion, as the conference's premier event was hosted by USD for three straight years from 2001-03. Gonzaga won its first-ever WCC Tournament title in Portland last year, and GU became the first conference program to claim both the men's and women's tournament titles in the same season in 2007.