{{ article.title }}

WCC Women's Basketball All-Conference Teams Announced

March 1, 2010

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

SAN BRUNO, CA -- Gonzaga's Courtney Vandersloot defended her title and was named the WCC Player of the Year after her Bulldogs captured their sixth straight WCC regular season title. Saint Mary's Louella Tomlinson was tabbed the WCC Defensive Player of the Year, also winning the award for the second straigtht year. Gonzaga's Katelon Redmon won the WCC Newcomer of the Year award, while Gonzaga Head Coach Kelly Graves won the WCC's Coach of the Year honor for the fifth time in his career, tying the conference record set by Jim Sollars last year.

Vandersloot becomes the fourth straight Zag to win the conference's top honor and the only player since Anja Bordt of Saint Mary's (1989 and 1990) to win it in back-to-back fashion. She has also been placed on several award watch lists including semi-finalist for the Wooden Award, one of eight finalists for the Nancy Lieberman Award, and semi-finalist for Naismith Award. This season she led the NCAA in assists (9.4) the entire season as well as ranking second in steals (3.6). Vandersloot totaled 10 games this year with double-figures in assists.

Tomlinson wins the Defensive Player of the Year award for the second straight season, becoming the only other player to repeat since San Francisco's Toni Russell did it in 2004 and 2005. She added to her resume of blocks records this year by setting the NCAA record for career blocks (500) as well as in a season (183), leading the NCAA in blocks the whole season (6.3). She is one of two players in the conference to average a double-double (17.0p, 11.0r) and has had five games this season with double-digits in blocks.

Redmon provided an immediate spark off the bench as she was the team's fourth leading scorer (11.1) in just 21.9 minutes per game and shot 53.6 percent from the field, which ranked third in the conference. She also averaged 4.1 rebounds per game, which tied for third on the team.

Graves led his team to an undefeated 14-0 conference record this season, marking just the third team in league history to do so. His team also achieved the feat in the 2004-05 season. He also led the team to its highest ever national ranking, coming in at No. 17 in the Associated Press poll. The Zags finished the year undefeated at home, going 14-0.

Player of the Year
Courtney Vandersloot, GON

Defensive Player of the Year
Louella Tomlinson, SMC

Coach of the Year
Kelly Graves, GON

Newcomer of the Year
Katelan Redmon, GON

ALL-WCC First Team
Miranda Ayim, PEP
Heather Bowman, GON
Dominique Conners, USD
Alex Cowling, LMU
Laiken Dollente, POR
Vivian Frieson, GON
Lena Gipson, SCU
Jontelle Smith, SMC
Louella Tomlinson, SMC
Courtney Vandersloot, GON

Shay Cooney-Williams, PEP
Meagan Fulps, SCU
Kate Gaze, SMC
Tifa Puletasi, SMC
Felicia Weinberg, USD

Honorable Mention
Rheina Ale, USF
Sam Child, USD
Alexis Gannis, POR
Jazmine Jackson, PEP
Tiffanie Shives, GON
Alyssa Shoji, SCU
Renahy Young, LMU