{{ article.title }}

2011 WCC Women's Basketball All-Conference Teams Announced

March 1, 2011

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

Click here to see the All-Conference selections!

Click here to listen to WCC Live!

Click here to visit our Tournament Central Page!

SAN BRUNO, CA -- Gonzaga University received a pair of individual honors after claiming its seventh straight West Coast Conference women's basketball regular season title and the top seed in the WCC Tournament, as senior Courtney Vandersloot was named the Conference's 2011 Player of the Year and Head Coach Kelly Graves took home the WCC Coach of the Year honor for the second year in a row. Pepperdine junior Jazmine Jackson was named WCC Defensive Player of the Year, while Loyola Marymount freshman Camille Buckley was named as the conference's Newcomer of the Year.

Graves led the Bulldogs to a perfect 14-0 WCC record for the second year in a row, clinching the program's seventh consecutive WCC regular-season title. Gonzaga has won 30 straight WCC regular-season games.

Vandersloot is the West Coast Conference Player of the Year for the third year in a row and she is a big part of why Gonzaga leads the nation in scoring offense at 86.2 points per game. Vandersloot led the NCAA in assists for the second year in a row, dishing out 9.9assists per game this season. Vandersloot also led the West Coast Conference with 18.7 points per contest, which was 27th in the country.

Jackson averaged 2.6 steals per contest this season. Her seven steals at Nevada last November are an individual player game-high in the WCC this season. The Waves are among the top five in the nation and lead the Conference with 13.1 steals per game this season.

Buckley made an immediate impact in her first season at Loyola Marymount. Buckley started 19 out of 28 games in her first season, and she ranked fourth in the WCC with 9.1 rebounds per contest. In Conference play, her 10.6 rebounds per contest, including 4.1 offensive rebounds, led the WCC.

Player of the Year
Courtney Vandersloot, GON

Defensive Player of the Year
Jazmine Jackson, PEP

Coach of the Year
Kelly Graves, GON

Newcomer of the Year
Camille Buckley, LMU

ALL-Conference Team
Dominique Conners, USD
Natalie Day, POR
Lena Gipson, SCU
Jazmine Jackson, PEP
Katelan Redmon, GON
Jasmine Smith, SMC
Kayla Standish, GON
Louella Tomlinson, SMC
Courtney Vandersloot, GON
Renahy Young, LMU

Camille Buckley, LMU
Alexis Byrd, POR
Danielle Mauldin, SMC
Robie Mayberry, PEP
Ricki Radanovich, SCU

Honorable Mention
Janelle Bekkering, GON
Tara Cronin, POR
Candice Nichols, LMU
ReZina TecleMariam, POR
Sam Child, USD
Kelly Jo Mullaney, USF
Meagan Fulps, SCU