{{ article.title }}

West Coast Conference Announces 2013 Women's Basketball All-Conference Team

March 5, 2013

| WCC on Facebook | WCC on YouTube | WCC Tournament Central

Watch the all-conference video

SAN BRUNO, CA -- The West Coast Conference is pleased to announce the 2013 women's basketball individual award-winners and all-conference team, as voted on by the league's nine head coaches. Gonzaga's Taelor Karr is the Player of the Year, Gonzaga junior Jazmine Redmon is the Defensive Player of the Year, and San Diego freshman Maya Hood is the Newcomer of the Year. Gonzaga's Kelly Graves is the Coach of the Year.

Karr led the WCC and ranked in the NCAA's top 10 with a .447 three-point field goal percentage (30 for 63) during WCC play. The senior guard averaged 14.1 points per contest in 16 WCC games, good for fourth in the league. Karr made a league-high eight three-pointers in a January 3rd contest against San Diego, missing only one.

Redmon is the WCC Defensive Player of the Year. She ranked fourth in the WCC with 2.1 steals per contest during WCC play. As a team, the Bulldogs led the conference in scoring defense (53.9 points per game) and steals (12.3 per game) during conference action.

Hood started 15 out of 16 WCC contests as a freshman and averaged 11 points per game. She shot .549 from the field and pulled down five rebounds per game during conference play.

Graves, who is the WCC Coach of the Year for the third time in the last four seasons, led the Bulldogs to a 15-1 conference mark as the Zags won their ninth consecutive WCC regular season title. GU closed the regular season with a 25-5 record and will be the No. 1 seed at the 2013 WCC Basketball Championship.

The complete 2012-13 West Coast Conference Women's Basketball All-Conference team follows.

Player of the Year
Taelor Karr, Sr. G, Gonzaga

Defensive Player of the Year
Jazmine Redmon, Jr., G, Gonzaga

Newcomer of the Year
Maya Hood, Fr., F, San Diego

Coach of the Year
Kelly Graves, Gonzaga


Player Yr. Pos. School
Alex Cowling RS-Sr. G/F Loyola Marymount
Jennifer Hamson Jr. C BYU
Amy Kame Jr. G San Diego
Taelor Karr Sr. G Gonzaga
Mel Khlok Sr. G San Francisco
Lindsay Leo RS-Sr. F Santa Clara
Danielle Mauldin Jr. F Saint Mary's
Jackie Nared Jr. G Saint Mary's
Haiden Palmer Jr. G Gonzaga
Haley Steed Gr. G BYU

Shay Cooney-Williams (Pepperdine); Meagan Fulps (Santa Clara); Sunny Greinacher (Gonzaga); Annika Holopainen (Portland); Maya Hood (San Diego); Katelyn McDaniel (San Diego); Hazel Ramirez (Loyola Marymount); Keilani Unga (BYU)


Player Pos. School
Shelby Cheslek F Gonzaga
Zhane Dikes G San Francisco
Annika Holopainen F Portland
Maya Hood F San Diego
Taylor Proctor F San Francisco