{{ article.title }}

WCCTV: Behind the Scenes at the WCC Grant Shoot

Aug. 20, 2009

SAN BRUNO, Calif. - WCCTV was on site to give fans a behind the scenes look at the Bay Area shoot for the upcoming WCC women's basketball marketing campaign.

For one day, Saint Mary's Paul Thomas, San Francisco's Tanya Haave, and Santa Clara's Jennifer Mountain traded the bright lights of the basketball arena for the camera spotlight. Though they were out of their comfort zones, all three coaches enjoyed their time in front of the camera.

The WCC will also travel to Southern California, Spokane, and Portland for shoots with the other head coaches in the league.

The West Coast Conference was one of 18 institutions or conferences selected by the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) to receive a women's basketball grant as part of the NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Grant Program.

In just its second year, the 2009-10 NCAA grant program dedicated approximately $750,000 nationally to increase awareness, exposure and increase attendance of women's basketball. To achieve these objectives within the West Coast Conference, the WCC developed a program concept that revolves around an online video that utilizes two innovative forms of functionality to deliver messaging in a way that is both compelling and personal. The targeted Internet campaign will be aimed at school alumni and fans.

As a whole, the goal of the WCC's grant program is to increase total attendance, arena capacity, and season ticket numbers by 15% across the board in 2009-10.

Joining the West Coast Conference as 2009-10 grant recipients are Auburn University; Big South Conference; Cornell University; East Tennessee State University; Eastern Michigan University; Iowa State University; Patriot League; San Diego State University, University of California, Los Angeles; University of California, Riverside; University of California, Santa Barbara; University of Hartford; University of Kansas; University of Miami (Florida); University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; University of South Carolina, Columbia; and Western Athletic Conference.