{{ article.title }}

Women's Basketball Announces 2007-08 Schedule

Aug. 21, 2007

Complete Schedule in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Moraga, CA - Saint Mary's head women's basketball coach Paul Thomas announced today the 2007-08 schedule. The Gaels will play a total of 31 games, including an exhibition contest and five tournament games. The slate includes 16 non-conference games and 14 West Coast Conference contests.

"We have made our schedule extra difficult in hopes to help us prepare for the rigors of the WCC," Thomas said. "We feel if we can be successful with this type of schedule, we can assume an at-large bid to the NCAA Tournament."

The Gaels will play seven games against 2007 NCAA Tournament participants. After an exhibition match-up against Loyola University on November 3, SMC will open its non-conference slate with two teams in a row who made their way to the tournament.

Saint Mary's opens the season in Waco, TX at the Basketball Travelers Tip-Off Tourney. SMC will play Prairie View on Friday, November 9 at 5:30 PM CST and then the next night the Gaels will face off against host Baylor at 7:30 PM CST. SMC concludes its tournament play against Howard on Sunday, November 11 at Noon.

The Gaels host their first home game against San Diego State on Saturday, November 17 before putting on the Hilton Concord Thanksgiving Classic. Classic play will open on November 23, with Boise State facing Bakersfield at 5:05 PM, followed by SMC versus Yale. The next night, Saint Mary's will play in the 7:05 PM game regardless of the outcome of the previous day.

The Gaels will then take a quick trip to Stockton to face Pacific on Wednesday, November 28 before making the short trek to Berkeley for the California Tournament. The Cal Tourney will open on Friday, November 30 with the Gaels facing off against the host Bears at 7:00 PM. SMC will then play Vanderbilt the next day. Both Cal and Vandy made the NCAA Tournament last season.

SMC then takes a quick trip to Alabama for a lone game on Sunday, December 9 before returning home to face Fresno State on Wednesday, December 12. The Gaels hit the road for one of their longest trips of the year after a quick stop at UC Davis on Monday, December 17. SMC heads to Utah to face the NCAA Tourney contender Utes on Wednesday, December 19. On Saturday, December 22 the Gaels will then play Utah State.

Saint Mary's returns home to the friendly confines of McKeon Pavilion to wrap up non-conference play. The Gaels will host back-to-back games in CS Fullerton on Saturday, December 29 and then Northern Colorado on Sunday, December 30.

The Gaels then dive into WCC play with three straight road games. SMC begins its conference slate at rival Santa Clara on Saturday, January 12 at 7:00 PM. The Gaels then head south to face Pepperdine on January 17 and Loyola Marymount on January 19.

Saint Mary's plays its first conference home match on Thursday, January 24 against Bay Area rival USF at 7:00 PM. SMC then hosts USD on Saturday, January 26 at 2:00 PM. The Gaels then hit the road and head to Spokane, WA to play WCC Champions Gonzaga on Thursday, January 31. SMC plays Portland on February 2 at the Chiles Center.

Saint Mary's then gears for the second go-around of the WCC slate with a home game against rival Santa Clara on February 9 at 2:00 PM. On Thursday, February 14 the Gaels host LMU and then play Pepperdine on February 16.

The final road swing of the year will be a Thursday, February 21 match-up against USF and then a Saturday, February 23 game at USD. The Gaels close out regular season play against Portland and Gonzaga at home. The Portland game is slated for February 28 while the contest against the Bulldogs is slated for Saturday, March 1 at 2:00 PM.

The WCC Tournament will be held in San Diego at the Jenny Craig Pavilion. The tourney begins on Thursday, March 6.