{{ article.title }}

Pepperdine selected to win 12th straight WCC Women's Golf Championship

Feb. 13, 2013

| WCC on Facebook | WCC on Instagram

SAN BRUNO, Calif. -- Pepperdine University has been selected to win the 2013 West Coast Conference women's golf championship in a preseason poll of the WCC's six head coaches. The Waves received five out of a possible six first-place votes (coaches were not allowed to vote for their own team).

Pepperdine led the way with three preseason all-WCC selections: juniors Grace Na and Liv Cheng as well as sophomore Alina Ching.

Gonzaga received one first place vote and finished four points behind the Waves in the poll. Pepperdine defeated the Bulldogs by six strokes at the 2012 WCC Golf Championships at San Juan Oaks Golf Club in Hollister, Calif. The Zags are one of four teams represented by multiple golfers on the preseason All-WCC team. 2012 WCC individual champion Victoria Fallgren is joined by sophomore Alice Kim on the all-conference squad.

BYU and San Francisco were both picked to finish third in the preseason coaches poll. The Cougars and Dons received 15 points each. USF finished third at the 2012 WCC Championships and return junior Peppiina Kaija and senior Eyglo Oskarsdottir, who were both selected to the preseason all-conference team. BYU senior Amanda Keith and junior Selu Fotu are also preseason all-WCC selections.

Rounding out the preseason coaches poll are Santa Clara and WCC-newcomer Cal State Bakersfield, who join the conference as an affiliate member for women's golf in 2013. Broncos' junior Balbina Guajardo represents SCU on the preseason all-conference team.

The 2013 WCC Golf Championships will take place from April 15th to the 17th at Gold Mountain Golf Club in Bremerton, Wash.


Team (First Place Votes) Points
Pepperdine (5) 25
Gonzaga (1) 21
BYU 15
San Francisco 15
Santa Clara 9
Cal State Bakersfield 5


Player School Year
Liv Cheng Pepperdine Jr.
Alina Ching Pepperdine So.
Victoria Fallgren Gonzaga Sr.
Selu Fotu BYU Jr.
Balbina Guajardo Santa Clara Sr.
Peppiina Kaija San Francisco Jr.
Amanda Keith BYU Sr.
Alice Kim Gonzaga So.
Grace Na Pepperdine Jr.
Eyglo Oskarsdottir San Francisco Sr.