{{ article.title }}

Lions Fall Short Against Trojans

March 26, 2007

LOS ANGELES, Calif. - The No. 10 USC Trojans were victorious in all three races over LMU on Saturday at the Port of Los Angeles. The men and women's crew teams will head to the San Diego Crew Classic next weekend to take on some of the top teams from around the country.

Lineups for Saturday were:

First Varsity 8: Coxswain Candice Matheny, Courtney Cox, Alli Mitrovich, Marni Hietbrink, Jen Topor, Molly Stewart, Jill Austin, Sydney Johnson, Alexa Aftias.

Second Varsity 8: Coxswain Jennifer Guess, Becky Nolan, Talya Courtney, Stephanie Speer, Brooke LeJeune, Adrienne Lindstrom, Ainsley Cain, Kathryn Maloney, Courtney Bannerman.

Third Varsity 8: Coxswain Amy Guion, Jen Glassman, Larissa Meltz, Sam Cloonan, Lizz Baxter, Theresa Valencia, Jess Sappenfield, Alex Craig, Alex Lee.

The day started with the first varsity 8, and USC won with a time of 6:42.2. The Lions came in at 7:18.9. The Trojans were victorious again in the second varsity 8 competition, finishing with a time of 6:54.6. LMU finished with a time of 7:42.6.

The final race of the day featured two USC boats and one LMU boat. USC's third varsity 8 won the race with a time of 7:02.2, and the Trojan novice 8 finished second with a time of 7:25.4. The third varsity LMU boat finished with a time of 7:55.8.

The LMU men and women are back in action next weekend at the San Diego Crew Classic. Racing begins at 7:30am at Mission Bay, Crown Point Shores on Saturday. Action continues on Sunday.