{{ article.title }}

Gonzaga Takes Home 10th WCC Rowing Title

April 27, 2007


Rancho Cordova, Calif. - The Gonzaga women's rowing team claimed its 10th West Coast Conference title, winning the I-Eight, II-Eight and I-Four races on Friday afternoon at Lake Natoma. The Bulldogs swept each of the three events, taking its ninth I-Eight event in the 11-year championship history and accumulating the maximum 30 team points. Last year's champion, Loyola Marymount, finished in a three-way tie for second place with Saint Mary's and Santa Clara, who each scored 17 total points. San Diego took second-place in the I-Four race, finishing with nine total points.

Gonzaga earned its 10th championship with a time of 6:43.3 in the I-Eight race, finishing ahead of second-place Saint Mary's by nearly 13 seconds. The Gaels recorded their highest finish in school history in the I-Eight, recording a time of 6:56.0. LMU, who had won two of the last three WCC Championship I-Eight races, took third in a time of 6:59.2. Santa Clara took fourth with a 7:04.8 mark, while San Diego followed with a time of 7:09.0.

In the II-Eight race, Gonzaga took its eighth consecutive first-place finish in a time of 6:56.5, followed by Santa Clara, which finished in 7:16.2. LMU landed in the No. 3 spot with a time of 7:21.8, while Saint Mary's and San Diego rounded out the II-Eight race with times of 7:22.4 and 7:23.6, respectively.

Gonzaga won the I-Four event for the fifth time in six years, finishing in 7:46.22. San Diego earned its best finish of the 2007 event with a second-place time of 8:05.4, while Santa Clara captured third place with an 8:07.5 mark. LMU finished fourth in 8:15.3, followed by Saint Mary's in 8:23.1.

Gonzaga saw its 10th championship rewarded with three All-Conference selections in Nicole Aadland-Lewis, Hanna McClintock and Kelly Steinhauf. Saint Mary's had three athletes earn All-WCC honors in Sierra Timmer, two-time all-conference rower Lindsey Anderson and coxswain Kate Shalvoy. Both Santa Clara and LMU had two athletes honored, with the Lions' Marni Hietbrink and Courtney Cox, and the Broncos' Ashley Tomberlin and Katie Fahrer earning recognition. Rounding out the All-WCC team was San Diego's Jacquelyn Harris, who made her third consecutive appearance on the all-conference team. Gonzaga's Glenn Putyrae was tabbed for Coach of the Year honors for the fourth time.

2007 WCC Rowing Championship Team Results

1. Gonzaga, 6:43.3, 15 points
2. Saint Mary's, 6:56.0, 12 points
3. Loyola Marymount, 6:59.2, 9 points
4. Santa Clara, 7:04.8, 6 points
5. San Diego, 7:09.0, 3 points

1. Gonzaga, 6:56.5, 10 points
2. Santa Clara, 7:16.2, 8 points
3. Loyola Marymount, 7:21.8, 6 points
4. Saint Mary's, 7:22.4, 4 points
5. San Diego, 7:23.6, 2 points

1. Gonzaga, 7:46.2, 5 points
2. San Diego, 8:05.4, 4 points
3. Santa Clara, 8:07.5, 3 points
4. Loyola Marymount, 8:15.3, 2 points
5. Saint Mary's, 8:23.1, 1 point

Final Standings
1. Gonzaga - 30
2. LMU - 17
Saint Mary's -17
Santa Clara - 17
5. San Diego - 9

2007 WCC All-Conference Rowing Team

Nicole Aadland-Lewis, Gonzaga
Lindsey Anderson, Saint Mary's
Courtney Cox, Loyola Marymount
Katie Fahrer, Santa Clara
Jacquelyn Harris, San Diego
Marni Hietbrink, Loyola Marymount
Hanna McClintock, Gonzaga
Kelly Steinhauf, Gonzaga
Sierra Timmer, Saint Mary's
Ashley Tomberlin, Santa Clara
Coxswain: Kate Shalvoy, Saint Mary's

Coach of the Year: Glenn Putyrae, Gonzaga