{{ article.title }}

Women's Rowing Reclaims WCC Title

April 27, 2007

RANCHO CORDOVA, Calif. - The Gonzaga University women's rowing program made a statement at the West Coast Conference Championship Friday by sweeping all three races and winning its 10th title in 11 years. The Bulldogs, whose streak of nine-straight titles was broken by Loyola Marymount University in 2006, reclaimed the championship easily winning all three races by an average of 17 seconds.

"I am really proud and pleased with our team and their effort today," said head coach Glenn Putyrae. "Today was really about the team. This is something that we can all share in. It feels good to win the title back. All the rowers, especially the seniors, are ecstatic to end the WCC on such a high note."

Gonzaga took first by amassing 30 points, while Loyola Marymount, Saint Mary's College and Santa Clara University finished in a three-way tie for second place with 17 points. University of San Diego finished fifth with nine total points.

The Bulldogs earned their 10th championship with a time of 6:43.3 in the I-Eight (Varsity 8+) race, finishing ahead of second-place Saint Mary's by nearly 13 seconds. The Gaels recorded a time of 6:56.0. LMU, who had won two of the last three WCC Championship I-Eight races, took third in a time of 6:59.2. Santa Clara took fourth with a 7:04.8 mark, while San Diego followed with a time of 7:09.0.

The Varsity 8+ boat consisted of Joan Aubry, Kelly Steinhaus, Jessica Kocarnik, Cory Nelson, Hanna McClintock, Katie Atkins, Kelsey Koenig, Nicole Aadland-Lewis, and Whitney Engle.

In the II-Eight event (Second Varsity 8+), the Zags finished first with a time of 6:56.5, nearly 20 seconds ahead of Santa Clara who placed second in a time of 7:16.2. Loyola Marymount placed third finishing in 7:21.8, while Saint Mary's (7:22.4) and the San Diego (7:23.6), finished fourth and fifth, respectively.

Gonzaga's Second Varsity 8+ boat consisted of all novice rowers. It included Sarah Rotar, Chelsie Eddings, Alissa Stempson, Sara Hickman, Kari Sulenes, Katherine Krueger, Elizabeth Moore, Samantha Cekovic, and Rachel Ross.

The Bulldogs I-Four (Varsity 4+) set the tone for the day earning Gonzaga's first victory in a time of 7:46.2. San Diego came in second almost 19 seconds later with a time of 8:05.4. Santa Clara placed third in a time 8:07.5, followed by Loyola Marymount in fourth with a time of 8:15.2 and Saint Mary's in fifth finishing with a time of 8:23.1.

Gonzaga's Varsity 4+ boat was comprised of Melissa Refruerzo, Whitney Patrick, Sierra Tittle, Teagan Towhey, and Julie Smetana.

The Zags saw its 10th championship rewarded with three All-Conference selections in Nicole Aadland-Lewis, Hanna McClintock and Kelly Steinhaus. Gonzaga's Glenn Putyrae was also tabbed for Coach of the Year honors for the fourth time.

Saint Mary's had three athletes earn All-WCC honors in Sierra Timmer, two-time all-conference rower Lindsey Anderson and coxswain Kate Shalvoy. Both Santa Clara and LMU had two athletes honored, with the Lions' Marni Hietbrink and Courtney Cox, and the Broncos' Ashley Tomberlin and Katie Fahrer earning recognition. Rounding out the All-WCC team was San Diego's Jacquelyn Harris, who made her third consecutive appearance on the all-conference team.

Gonzaga will now compete in the WIRA Championships on Saturday and Sunday at Lake Natoma in Sacramento, Calif.

Final Standings
1. Gonzaga - 30
2. LMU - 17 
   Saint Mary's -17 
   Santa Clara - 17
5. San Diego - 9

1. Gonzaga, 6:43.3 (15 points)
2. Saint Mary's, 6:56.0 (12 points)
3. Loyola Marymount, 6:59.2 (9 points)
4. Santa Clara, 7:04.8 (6 points)
5. San Diego, 7:09.0 (3 points)

II-8 Race
1. Gonzaga, 6:56.5 (10 points)

2. Santa Clara, 7:16.2 (8 points)
3. Loyola Marymount, 7:21.8 (6 points)
4. Saint Mary's 7:22.4 (4 points)
5. San Diego, 7:23.6 (2 points)

I-4 Race
1. Gonzaga, 7:46.2 (5 points)
2. San Diego, 8:05.4 (4 points)
3. Santa Clara, 8:07.5 (3 points)
4. Loyola Marymount, 8:15.3 (2 points)
5. Saint Mary's, 8:23.1 (1 point)
Provisional entry: Portland, 7:58.0

2007 WCC All-Conference Rowing Team
Nicole Aadland-Lewis, Gonzaga
Lindsey Anderson, Saint Mary's
Courtney Cox, Loyola Marymount
Katie Fahrer, Santa Clara
Jacquelyn Harris, San Diego
Marni Hietbrink, Loyola Marymount
Hanna McClintock, Gonzaga
Kelly Steinhaus, Gonzaga
Sierra Timmer, Saint Mary's
Ashley Tomberlin, Santa Clara
Coxswain: Kate Shalvoy, Saint Mary's
Coach of the Year: Glenn Putyrae, Gonzaga