{{ article.title }}

Lions Head to San Diego Crew Classic

March 30, 2007

LOS ANGELES, Calif. - The LMU crew team will participate in the San Diego Crew Classic this weekend at Mission Bay in San Diego, Calif. LMU will send a women's varsity 8 and JV 8, and a men's varsity 8 and novice 8. Action begins with the men's varsity 8 Cal Cup at 7:30am on Saturday. Competition continues on Sunday.

The LMU men's varsity 8 will compete in Heat A for the Men's Cal Cup. Also in LMU's heat are Orange Coast College, Lehigh, UC Santa Barbara, Long Beach State, Cal Lightweights and Santa Clara.

Lineup for the men's varsity 8 this weekend is: coxswain Vanessa Garrett, Tim Santy, Landon Storaasli, Scott Wike, Mark Stellner, Mike Wither, John McAndrew, Kevin Druffel-Rodriguez and David Cronin.

LMU's women's varsity 8 boat will compete for the prestigious Jessop-Whitter Cup at 8:50am. The Lions will race in Heat B, taking on USC, UCLA, Oregon State, and Clemson. LMU has raced against USC and UCLA this season, but will face the Beavers and Tigers for the first time.

Lineup for the women's varsity 8 is: coxswain Jennifer Guess, Courtney Cox, Alli Mitrovich, Marni Hietbrink, Jen Topor, Molly Stewart, Alexa Aftias, Sydney Johnson, Jill Austin.

At 9:30am, the men's novice 8 will begin competition for the Derek Guelker Memorial Cup. The Lions are in Heat B, taking on Orange Coast College, Oregon State, UC San Diego, San Diego, Santa Clara and Chapman.

Rowing in the men's novice 8 boat this weekend will be: coxswain Nick Llanos, Dominic Leone, Ben Ashley, Kent Stephanoff, Lorenzo Nardini, Patrick Callan, Kyle Hickman, John Landwehr and Miles Dobbyn.

The final LMU boat is the women's JV8 which will compete for the Jackie Ann Stitt Hungness Trophy. LMU is in Heat B which will begin at 10:00am. Also in Heat B are Washington State, UCLA, Stanford, Clemson, San Diego State and Chapman. Familiar faces include UCLA and San Diego State.

Competing in the women's JV8 boat for LMU this weekend are: coxswain Candice Matheny, Kathryn Maloney, Talya Courtney, Stephanie Speer, Becky Nolan, Adrienne Lindstrom, Brooke LeJeune, Sam Cloonan and Ainsley Cain.

Some finals are held on Saturday afternoon, but most will be on Sunday morning.

Directions to Mission Bay:
Exit Route 5 at the Balboa and Garnet exit. Go right (west) on Garnet Street to a "Y" junction and stay left on Balboa. Immediately after Balboa merges with Grand Avenue, turn left onto Lamont Street. Go straight (south) on Lamont approximately 8 blocks and cross Crown Point Drive at the "Yield" sign. Trailer parking is down the hill to the first left and car parking is down the hill to the left further on.