{{ article.title }}

Women's Crew Finishes Fourth In WCC Championships

April 28, 2006

SACRAMENTO, Calif. - The Santa Clara University women's rowing team finished in fourth place Friday afternoon at the WCC Championships on the waters of Lake Natoma in Sacramento, Calif. The Broncos finished only one point behind Saint Mary's for third place in the competition and Tracy Flecky was named to the All-WCC Rowing Team.

SCU's I-Eight boat finished third in its race, the top performance for the Broncos as they accumulated 12 points in the competition, besting San Diego and finishing only one behind the third-place Gaels.

Loyola Marymount claimed its first-ever WCC rowing title, ending Gonzaga's nine-year streak. The Lions and Bulldogs actually ended the day's competition tied atop the standings with 27 points apiece, but LMU was awarded the tie-breaker by virtue of having won the I-Eight race.

The Broncos will now remain in Sacramento for the weekend's WIRA Championships which are set to begin Saturday morning.

Gonzaga captured the I-Four and II-Eight races to start the day, while both of Santa Clara's boats crossed the line in fifth place. In the I-Eight race, the Broncos came on strong, finishing with a time of 6:46.7, only eight seconds off of LMU's winning time of 6:38.8 and three seconds back of runner-up Gonzaga.

2006 WCC Rowing Championship Team Results

I-Four Results
1. Gonzaga, 7:40.0, 5 points
2. LMU, 7:50.6, 4 points
3. Saint Mary's, 7:55.9, 3 points
4. San Diego, 8:02.8, 2 points
5. Santa Clara, 8:32.0, 1 point

II-Eight Results
1. Gonzaga, 6:47.3, 10 points
2. LMU, 6:53.5, 8 points
3. San Diego, 7:03.8, 6 points
4. Saint Mary's, 7:10.8, 4 points
5. Santa Clara, 7:12.3, 2 points

I-Eight Results
1. LMU, 6:38.8, 15 points
2. Gonzaga, 6:43.3, 12 points
3. Santa Clara, 6:46.7, 9 points
4. Saint Mary's, 6:48.2, 6 points
5. San Diego, 6:49.3, 3 points

Final Point Standings:
1. LMU - 27
2. Gonzaga - 27
3. Saint Mary's - 13
4. Santa Clara - 12
5. San Diego - 11

2006 All-West Coast Conference Rowing Team
Tracy Flecky, SCU
Christina Deuchle, LMU
Liz Stewart, LMU
Sarah Allison, GON
Kari Durgan, GON
Lindsey Anderson, SMC
Jacquelyn Harris, USD
Coxswain - Jenn Guess, LMU
Coach of the Year - Patrick Kelly, LMU