{{ article.title }}

University of San Diego Wins First Ever WCC Rowing Championship

April 30, 2010

LAKE NATOMA, Calif. - The University of San Diego women's rowing team upset perennial champion Gonzaga at the 2010 WCC Rowing Championships in one of the closest races in championship history. The Gonzaga Bulldogs came into the tournament as the heavy favorite, winning 12 of the 13 WCC Championship titles, but this year proved different.

Last year's WCC second place finisher San Diego fought hard from the beginning, in search of its first ever conference title. The Toreros won the Varsity Four race by approximately seven seconds, but Gonzaga came back to the Varsity II Eight race by nine seconds to become the overall points leader.

The Championship title came down to the last race of the day, the Varsity I Eight, and after a close neck-to-neck battle between the Toreros and Bulldogs, the Toreros came out on top by a mere .2 seconds for its first ever WCC Championship in program history. The Toreros now join the Loyola Marymount Lions as the only other WCC team apart from Gonzaga to win the WCC title.

With the win, San Diego Head Coach Kim Cupini was also named the WCC Coach of the Year for the second consecutive season, while San Diego's Allyn Delozier garnered WCC Coxswain of the Year honors.

Below are the full results of the 2010 WCC Rowing Championships and a list of the 2010 WCC Rowing All-Conference Team.

WCC Women's Rowing Championships
Friday, April 30, 2010
Lake Natoma (Rancho Cordova, California)

Final Standings
San Diego - 28
Gonzaga University - 26
Loyola Marymount University - 18
Saint Mary's College - 12
Santa Clara University - 3

I Four Race Official Results
1. San Diego (cox: Caitlin Soper, Nichole Norby, Taylar Albertini, Lisa O'Toole, Melanie Lucas-Conwell) 8:00.2
2. Gonzaga (cox: Nicky Talkington, Maryssa Thompson, Jamie Hemenway, Olivia Miller, Courtney Norris) 8:07.0
3. Loyola Marymount (cox: Janel Peralez, Kerry Small, Paris Amy, Jill Dannia, Molly Clinton) 8:39.3
4. Saint Mary's (cox: Lisa Wickhem, Lauren Jaeckel, Blair Smith, Jessica Menzhuber, Tara Larson) 8:43.5

II Eight Race Official Results
1. Gonzaga (cox: Natalie Wolfrom, Lauren Miller, Alexa Bostwick, Paula Welly, Hannah Winters, Therese Yrani, Rachel Schlosser, Sophie Bluhm, Lana Bowie) 7:06.2
2. San Diego (cox: Kristin Jones, Maggie Cole, Lauren Rollins, Stephanie Jegat, Sara Church, Alexandra Parker, Lindsey Dornes, Hannah Ward, Anne Lewis) 7:15.4
3. Loyola Marymount (cox: Marie Simoni, Sydney Sutton-Liswith, Tayla Courtney, Maggie Boze, Adrienne Lindtrom, Liz LaLonde, Cassidy Baine, Leanne McNamee, Harriett Russell) 7:24.1
4. Saint Mary's (cox: Molly Chow, Elyssa Roselle, Jillian Parlee, Elaina Jones, Deanna Estes, Nicolette Pierantoni, Jacqueline Lintner, Caitlin Staat, Ann Boyd) 7:55.2

I Eight Race Official Results
1. San Diego (cox: Allyn Delozier, Hannah Patrick, Christine Holloway, Katharine Petrich, Gina Schneider, Michelle Schooler, Marilyn Smith, Taylor Caldwell, Michelle Geesman) 6:43.6
2. Gonzaga (cox: Emily Wilson, Chelsea Quilling, Alissa Stempson, Liz Moore, Teddi McGuire, Elise Perkins, Sam Cekovic, Chelsie Eddings, Sami Koppinger) 6:43.83. Loyola Marymount (cox: Kayla Pietruszka, Katrina Regan, Shannon Craig, Mary Foster, Alex Silva, Michelle Herrerias, Chris Erhart, Bettina Messerli, Hanna Osborne) 7:11.0
4. Saint Mary's (cox: Marrah Galvin, Savina Brown, Jordan Bonadio, Miranda Ripoli, Dana Cook, Michelle Burns, Laura Kocourek, Taylor Balian, Jennifer Trowers) 7:21.1
5. Santa Clara (cox: Katelyn Daley, Jennifer Bullian, Jillian Walker, Kira Kubota, Berkeley Fial, Gabrielle Alexander, Laurel Schuster, Katie Caudle, Mehanna Hoopii) 7:31.0

2010 West Coast Conference Coach of the Year
Kim Cupini (University of San Diego)

2010 West Coast Conference Coxswain of the Year
Allyn Delozier (University of San Diego)

2010 West Coast Conference All-Conference Team
Jordan Bonadio (Saint Mary's College)
Jennifer Bullian (Santa Clara University)
Allyn Delozier (University of San Diego)
Michelle Herrerias (Loyola Marymount University)
Christine Holloway (University of San Diego)
Liz Moore (Gonzaga University)
Hannah Patrick (University of San Diego)
Katharine Petrich (University of San Diego)
Alissa Stempson (Gonzaga University)