{{ article.title }}

Gonzaga Captures 11th WCC Rowing Title

May 2, 2008

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

Lake Natoma, Calif.- The Gonzaga women's rowing team continued its domination of the WCC Rowing Championships, claiming its 11th conference crown Friday morning. The Zags were victorious in all three races, winning each competition by an average of 11 seconds. San Diego earned a second place finish with 24 points, after coming in just behind the Zags in each race. Loyola Marymount finished in third place with 15 points, while Saint Mary's earned 13 total points, good for fourth place. Santa Clara rounded out the competition, coming in fifth, with eight points.

Gonzaga posted a first place finish in the I-Eight event for the second time in the last three years with a time of 6:44.0, finishing ahead of second place San Diego by five seconds. The Toreros, who had finished the I-Eight race in fifth place last season, notched a time of 6:49.1 to come in second this year. The Gaels grabbed third place with a 6:54.7 mark. Loyola Marymount came in fourth with a time of 7:00.7, followed by the Broncos with a time of 7:01.6.

In the II-Eight race, Gonzaga finished first for the ninth straight season with a 6:56.7 mark, followed by San Diego with a time of 7:07.4. Loyola Marymount captured the No. 3 spot with a time of 7:08.7, while Santa Clara and Saint Mary's rounded out the II-Eight race with times of 7:20.6 and 7:26.8, respectively.

The Zags won the I-Four event for the sixth time in the last seven years, posting a time of 7:40.0. The Toreros took second place in the I-Four race with a 7:56.0 mark, while the Lions captured third place with a time of 8:06.5. Saint Mary's came in fourth with an 8:27.9 mark, and Santa Clara finished fifth with a time of 8:40.9.

Gonzaga was rewarded for their first place finish by landing four athletes on the All-WCC team in Kelsey Koenig, Hanna McClintock, Kelly Steinhaus, and 2008 Coxswain of the Year, Joan Aubry. San Diego had two athletes earn All-WCC honors, as both Allison Matthews and Jacquelyn Harris received all-conference recognition. This year marked the fourth time Jacquelyn Harris has earned WCC All-Conference honors. Rounding out the All-WCC team were Loyola Marymount's Jill Austin, Saint Mary's Johanna Timmer, and Santa Clara's Laila Correa. Gonzaga's head coach, Melissa Flint, was tabbed for 2008 WCC Rowing Coach of the Year honors her first year in this position.

2008 WCC Rowing Championship Team Results

1. Gonzaga, 6:44.0, 15 points
2. San Diego, 6:49.1, 12 points
3. Saint Mary's, 6:54.7, 9 points
4. Loyola Marymount, 7:00.7, 6 points
5. Santa Clara, 7:01.3, 3 points

1. Gonzaga, 6:56.7, 10 points
2. San Diego, 7:07.4, 8 points
3. Loyola Marymount, 7:08.7, 6 points
4. Santa Clara, 7:20.6, 4 points
5. Saint Mary's. 7:26.8, 2 points

1. Gonzaga, 7:40.0, 5 points
2. San Diego, 7:56.0, 4 points
3. Loyola Marymount, 8:06.5, 3 points
4. Saint Mary's, 8:27.9, 2 points
5. Santa Clara, 8:40.9, 1 point

Final Standings
1. Gonzaga - 30
2. San Diego - 24
3. LMU - 15
4. Saint Mary's - 13
5. Santa Clara - 8

2008 All-West Coast Conference Rowing Team

Jill Austin, Loyola Marymount
Laila Correa, Santa Clara
Jacquelyn Harris, San Diego
Kelsey Koenig, Gonzaga
Allison Matthews, San Diego
Hanna McClintock, Gonzaga
Kelly Steinhaus, Gonzaga
Johanna Timmer, Saint Mary's
Coxswain - Joan Aubry, Gonzaga

Coach of the Year: Melissa Flint, Gonzaga