{{ article.title }}

Four West Coast Conference Rowers Earn All-West Region Accolades

May 28, 2014

| WCC on Facebook | TheW.tv


SAN BRUNO, Calif. -
The Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) announced the 2014 Division I All-Region award-winners today and the West Coast Conference was well represented. San Diego led the league with two total selections, while Gonzaga and Saint Mary's each placed one on the second team.

San Diego senior Michelle Campbell (Waikane, New Zealand), was one of eleven student-athletes selected West First Team All-Region, while teammate junior Erica Mayer (Medicine Hat, Alberta) was selected West Second Team All-Region as a coxswain. Campbell was recognized as the 2014 WCC Rower of the Year while Mayer was the WCC Coxswain of the Year.

Gonzaga sophomore Kara Soucek (McCall, Idaho) and Saint Mary's Maryann Concannon (Portland, Ore.) were selected to the West Second Team All-Region squad.

The CRCA awards recognize the outstanding performances of rowers and coxswains from each of the five regions, organized into first and second-team selections. Nominated student-athletes are evaluated on the strength of their team's regional finish, coaches recommendations and 2,000-meter erg score. Nominees must be eligible student-athletes who have competed in their teams' varsity boat in 75 percent of races this season.

The student-athletes from each region will be eligible for All-America awards selection following the NCAA Rowing Championships (May 30- June 1). San Diego, the 2014 West Coast Conference Champions, will be participating at Nationals for the first time in program history May 30-June 1 in Indianapolis.

West First Team All-Region
Michelle Campbell, University of San Diego
Maddie Cordner, University of Washington
Anna Dawson, Stanford University
Kirstyn Goodger, University of Washington
Krisztina Gyimes, University of Southern California
Nicole Hare, Washington State University
Maddy Johnson, University of Washington, coxswain
Daphne Martschenko - Stanford University
Anna Taylor - Oregon State University
Meaghan Volker - University of California, Los Angeles
Kristy Wentzel - Stanford University

West Second Team All-Region
Maryann Concannon, Saint Mary's College of California
Filippa Karrfelt, Stanford University
Erica Mayer, University of San Diego, coxswain
Vineta Moca, University of Southern California
Patricia Obee, University of Washington
Kara Soucek, Gonzaga University
Alice White, University of California, Los Angeles
Ruth Whyman, University of Washington