{{ article.title }}

Lightweights Race for National Championship

May 30, 2007

Briefly... The LMU women's lightweight eight will compete for a national championship this week, taking part in the Intercollegiate Rowing Association (IRA) National Championships in Cherry Hill, New Jersey. The Lions have had a strong season and look to cap it off against the nation's strongest lightweight eight boats.

Cox Candice Matheny; 8-Kathryn Maloney; 7-Talya Courtney; 6-Jill Austin; 5-Lizz Baxter; 4-Jen Glassman; 3-Courtney Bannerman; 2-Maggie Sullivan; 1-Larissa Meltz.

Women's Lightweight Varsity Eight Schedule of Events:

Friday, June 1st
7:00am - Heats
2:26pm - Repachages

Saturday, June 2nd
2:12pm - Petite and Championship Finals

More information on the IRA Championships, seeding and heat assignments can be found here.

IRA Format
On June 1st, there will be two heats featuring six teams in each heat. The winner of each heat earns an automatic berth into the finals on June 2nd. The teams who do not win the heat will compete in repachages on the afternoon on June 1st to determine the other teams in the championship final.

About the Lions...LMU was ranked 10th in the May 15th lightweight eight poll and is seeded 9th in the IRA Championships. The Lions earned gold at the WIRA Championships and silver at the PCRC Championships. LMU has faced several of its opponents this season, defeating Long Beach State several times, but falling to Princeton, Stanford and Central Florida at the Windermere Regatta.

The Lions have a young lineup without a single senior. Three members of the boat are freshmen, showing great promise for the future of the LMU lightweight program.

"We are excited to race the best this week. It's an outstanding opportunity to face the challenge with a young crew - no seniors, and continue to learn and develop. This will create great exposure for LMU on the national stage," said assistant coach Sara-Mai Conway.

Heat Schedule:
Lanes: Heat 1 (seeding)
1. LMU (9)
2. Radcliffe (5)
3. Wisconsin (1)
4. Georgetown (4)
5. Ohio State (8)
6. MIT (12)

Heat 2
1. Long Beach State (10)
2. Central Florida (6)
3. Princeton (2)
4. Stanford (3)
5. Bucknell (7)
6. Lehigh (11)