{{ article.title }}

San Diego Women's Rowing earns final national ranking of 15th

June 1, 2014

| WCC on Facebook | TheW.tv


 Photo Gallery  |   Sunday Final Results   Get Acrobat Reader   |   Final Team Standings   Get Acrobat Reader

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. - The USD women's rowing program, under the direction of 7th-year head coach Kim Cupini, capped off their historic 2014 season with three more strong performances today in their C Final races at the NCAA Rowing Championships. All of the team's hard work throughout the season paid off as they earned a final national ranking of 15th in the country based on their impressive results this weekend. Entered as an automatic qualifier after winning the West Coast Conference Championship, the Toreros proved to everyone that they belong with the nation's best.

On the final day of the 2014 NCAA Division I Rowing Championships at the Indianapolis Rowing Center at Eagle Creek Park, all three USD boats turned in top-16 performances in their respective C Final heats. Turning in the 14th fastest times in the nation were USD's Varsity Four (7:40.60) and the Varsity Eight I (6:52.55), while the Varsity Eight II claimed the 16th fastest time at 7:04.41.

USD's  Varsity Four (cox: Rachel Michel, Kathleen Petrich, Hannah Saddler, Abigail McLauchlin and McKenna Wray)was the Toreros first boat in the water and raced to an impressive second place finish as they covered the 2,000 meters in 7:40.60. They beat out programs from UCLA (7:42.90), Louisville (7:46.55), Harvard (7:48.06) and Oklahoma (7:52.59), while finishing runner-up to Washington State (7:36.12).

USD's  Varsity Eight II (cox: Karli Wittenberg, Megan McNamara, Jennifer Travis, Avalon Koenig, Carla Kinnunen,Uche Anyanwu, Rachel Kincaid, Ellycia Halden and Allyson Ward), racing from lane one, competed hard and claimed a time of 7:04.41, good for the 16th fastest time for Varsity Eight II crews. They beat out both Oklahoma (7:06.81) and Northeastern (7:16.01), while finishing behind Indiana (6:54.73), Louisville (6:56.30) and Wisconsin (6:59.39).

USD's  Varsity Eight 1 (cox: Erica Mayer, Mary Jo Keys, Michelle Campbell, Brianna Lamb, Nneka Anyanwu, Megan Goodman, Cristina Morcom, Taylor Kendzierski, Courntey Olson) closed out the championships for USD by placing second and clocking the 14th fastest time in the nation for Varsity Eight crews at 6:52.55. They beat programs from Washington State (6:52.63), Louisville (6:57.32), Wisconsin (7:00.83) and Northeastern (7:10.37), while finishing runner-up to UCLA (6:48.99).


From USDToreros.com