{{ article.title }}

WCC Women's Rowing Wrap Up Notes

June 24, 2010

History was made at the 2010 WCC Rowing Championships as the University of San Diego women's rowing team upset perennial champion Gonzaga at Lake Natoma in one of the closest races in championship history. The Gonzaga Bulldogs came into the tournament as the heavy favorite, winning 12 of the 13 WCC Championship titles, but this year proved different.

Last year's WCC second place finisher San Diego fought hard from the beginning, in search of its first ever conference title. The Toreros won the Varsity Four race by approximately seven seconds, but Gonzaga came back to the Varsity II Eight race by nine seconds to become the overall points leader.

The Championship title came down to the last race of the day, the Varsity I Eight, and after a close neck-to-neck battle between the Toreros and Bulldogs, the Toreros came out on top by a mere .2 seconds for its first ever WCC Championship in program history. The Toreros now join the Loyola Marymount Lions as the only other WCC team apart from Gonzaga to win the WCC title.

With the win, San Diego Head Coach Kim Cupini was also named the WCC Coach of the Year for the second consecutive season, while San Diego's Allyn Delozier garnered WCC Coxswain of the Year honors.

Final Standings
San Diego - 28
Gonzaga University - 26
Loyola Marymount University - 18
Saint Mary's College - 12
Santa Clara University - 3

2010 West Coast Conference Coach of the Year
Kim Cupini (University of San Diego)

2010 West Coast Conference Coxswain of the Year
Allyn Delozier (University of San Diego)

2010 West Coast Conference All-Conference Team
Jordan Bonadio (Saint Mary's College)
Jennifer Bullian (Santa Clara University)
Allyn Delozier (University of San Diego)
Michelle Herrerias (Loyola Marymount University)
Christine Holloway (University of San Diego)
Liz Moore (Gonzaga University)
Hannah Patrick (University of San Diego)
Katharine Petrich (University of San Diego)
Alissa Stempson (Gonzaga University)


  • Gonzaga had two rowers earn All-WCC honors with Liz Moore and Alissa Stempson being honored.

  • The Gonzaga University women's rowing squad closed out the Western Intercollegiate Rowing Association (WIRA) Championships winning the Novice 8+ for the fourth time in five years and claiming the Junior Varsity 8+ victory for the fourth time in six years.

  • The Bulldogs also placed third in the Varsity 8+ and fourth in the Varsity 4+.

  • Three members of the Gonzaga squad were named Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) scholar-athletes for the 2010 season. Juniors Emily Wilson (Nursing, 3.67 GPA), Hannah Winters (Biology, 3.55) and Therese Yrani (Psychology, 3.62) all earned distinction for their work in the classroom for the second straight season.
  • Three was the magic number for LMU at the WCC Rowing Championships as all three of the Lions' boats came in third to push LMU to an overall third-place finish. It is the third straight year that the Lions have finished third at the conference's marquee rowing event.

  • Junior Michelle Herrerias completed a fine junior year with her first All-WCC recognition. She had been LMU's lone representative on the Preseason All-WCC team and earlier this week was a finalist for the LMU Female Athlete of the Year and Female Student-Athlete of the Year awards.

  • LMU capped the season by taking home one gold and two silvers at the Western Intercollegiate Rowing Association Championships (WIRA). The women's varsity 8 won its Petite Final, while the women's novice and lightweight 4s each picked up silver medals in their respective Grand Finals.
  • The Gaels finished in fourth place with 12 points, behind LMU (18 points), Gonzaga (26 points) and San Diego (28 points) at the WCC Rowing Championships.

  • Gaels' junior Jordan Bonadio was named to the 2010 West Coast Conference All-Conference Team for the first time in her career.

  • The Saint Mary's women's rowing team completed their 2010 season in impressive fashion. The Gaels placed in the top-four in every race they competed in, at the 2010 Pacific Coast Rowing Association Championships on Saturday, May 15 at Lake Natoma. Highlighting the day was the impressive showing by the collegiate four boat which won gold.

  • The Gaels wrapped up the season with the women's collegiate four event. SMC took first defeating two boats from Stanford and a boat from UC San Diego. The lineup for the collegiate-4 boat was coxswain Molly Chow, 4 Laura Kocourek, 3 Savina Brown, 2 Miranda Ripoli, 1 Michelle Burns.
  • The USD women's rowing team captured their first West Coast Conference Championship in program history at the WCC Rowing Championships by defeating perennial power Gonzaga by less than half a second.

  • Head Coach Kim Cupini was named WCC Coach of the Year for the second consecutive time while junior Allyn DeLozier was honored with WCC Coxswain of the Year honors. Delozier was named to the WCC All-Conference team along with senior Christine Holloway, junior Hannah Patrick, and senior Katherine Petrich also being honored with All-Conference accolades.

  • San Diego wrapped up the 2010 season with an impressive showing at the WIRA Championships. For the first time in program history, the Toreros became WIRA Champions in the Varsity 4, while also taking home first place in the Novice 4. In the team point category, the Toreros beat out Sacramento State University, who won four of the last five years. USD accumulated the most amount of team points for all Division 1 teams competing at WIRA's.

  • The Toreros earned five Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) Scholar Athlete awards. Hannah Patrick was selected to the All-West Region Second Team, while Taylor Caldwell, Kristin Jones, Katharine Petrich, and Marilyn Smith joined Patrick as Scholar Athlete award winners.
  • Santa Clara finished fourth at the 2010 WCC Rowing Championships. The Broncos were represented on the All-WCC team by Jen Bullian.

  • The Broncos closed out the season on a high note, taking home a Bronze medal in the Lightweight 4 event. SCU also took 3rd place in Petite Final in women's DI Varsity 8+, behind LMU and Saint Mary's.

  • Santa Clara women's crew team earned an NCAA Public Recognition Award for their efforts in the classroom. The distinction comes from earning high scores in the most recent Academic Progress Rate (APR) compilation.