{{ article.title }}

Portland Tabbed to Repeat as WCC Women's Soccer Champs

Aug. 4, 2011

WCC Women's Soccer Interactive Schedule | WCC on Twitter | Complete release in PDF format Get Acrobat Reader

SAN BRUNO, Calif. -- On the heels of its fourth straight West Coast Conference women's soccer championship, the University of Portland has been selected to repeat as WCC champions this season, despite some heavy competition from a conference that boasts four 2010 NCAA Tournament participants. The Pilots earned six first-place votes and 61 overall points in a preseason poll of the West Coast Conference's nine head coaches.

2010 NCAA participant Santa Clara University garnered two first place votes and tallied 53 points to finish in a second place tie with WCC newcomer Brigham Young University. The Cougars finished with 53 points and one first place vote in this year's WCC poll after winning the Mountain West Conference championship a season ago.

The University of San Diego captured 47 points in the coaches poll to finish fourth. The Toreros also were an NCAA at-large berth in 2010. Loyola Marymount University (33 points), Pepperdine University (31) and Saint Mary's College (20) follow, with a tie between Gonzaga University and the University of San Francisco (13 points each) rounding out the poll.

In all, seven of the nine WCC schools are represented on the preseason All-West Coast Conference team, led by Portland and Santa Clara with three selections each. The 2011 season begins on Friday, August 19, with eight teams in action.


Team (First Place Votes) Points
1. Portland (6) 61
2t. Santa Clara (2) 53
2t. BYU (1) 53
4. San Diego 47
5. Loyola Marymount 33
6. Pepperdine 31
7. Saint Mary's 20
8t. Gonzaga 13
8t. San Francisco 13


Player School Yr. Pos.
Cloee Colohan Portland So. M/D
Danielle Foxhoven Portland Sr. M/F
Natalie Garcia San Diego Sr. D
Bianca Henninger Santa Clara Sr. GK
Kendall Johnson Portland Jr. M/D
Julie Johnston Santa Clara So. M
Olivia Klei Santa Clara Jr. D
Jordan Marada Saint Mary's So. M
Tawni Martino Loyola Marymount So. F
Stephanie Ochs San Diego Sr. F
Michelle Pao Pepperdine So. D/M
Carlee Payne BYU Jr. F/M