{{ article.title }}

Two WCC Women's Soccer Matches To Be Televised

Sept. 26, 2007

SAN BRUNO, Calif. - Two West Coast Conference women's soccer matches will be televised nationally this fall, announced WCC Commissioner Michael Gilleran.

The WCC, arguably the premier Division I women's soccer conference in the country, will showcase San Diego at Portland match on Thursday, October 25. The second match-up features the two best teams in the nation in the best rivalry in the country as the Santa Clara Broncos play at Portland on Sunday, October 28th. The San Diego-Portland match will be televised nationally on Fox Soccer Channel at 8:00 p.m. (PST), while the Santa Clara-Portland contest will be presented on ESPNU at 2:00 p.m. (PST).

The two matches will showcase three of the top teams in the nation as Santa Clara, Portland, and San Diego are currently ranked in the top 25 of the latest Soccer America poll. The Broncos are the unanimous No. 1 ranked team in the nation, topping all four major soccer polls. Right on the Broncos' heels are the Portland Pilots who are ranked No. 2, while the San Diego Toreros check in at No. 22.

About Fox Soccer Channel
Fox Soccer Channel offers the most comprehensive coverage of world-class soccer available in the United States, including Major League Soccer, England's Barclays Premier League, Argentine First Division and Italian Serie A; as well as global tournaments such as the UEFA Cup, UEFA Women's Championship, English FA Cup, FIFA Club World Cup, CONCACAF Champions' Cup, and FA Community Shield. The Official Broadcast Partner of the United States Youth Soccer Association, Fox Soccer Channel also televises United Soccer Leagues and NCAA Division I college soccer matches. The channel reaches more than 30 million cable and satellite households in the U.S. and Caribbean.

Fox Soccer Channel is one of 28 national and regional programming networks within Fox Networks Group, an operating unit of the News Corporation (NYSE:NWS). These broadcast, cable, satellite and telephony delivered networks reach more than half a billion U.S. television homes, and represent one of the media industry's most diverse collections of programming operations. Fox Networks Group consists of FOX Sports, Fox Broadcasting Company, Fox Cable Networks and Fox Networks Engineering & Operations. For more information, visit America's most visited online soccer destination at foxsoccer.com.

ESPNU was launched in March 2005. The network features extensive studio programming and live coverage of games, including college football, college basketball and other Olympic sports from over 20 Division I conferences such as the Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC), Atlantic 10, Big 12, BIG EAST, Big South, Big Ten, Horizon League, Mid-American Conference, Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference (MAAC), Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC), Missouri Valley Conference (MVC), Ohio Valley Conference (OVC), Patriot League, Southland, Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC) and more. In addition, the network has a wide-ranging, long-term agreement with the NCAA calling for enhanced coverage of 22 NCAA Championships, showcasing sports from each of the three collegiate seasons. ESPNU also has exclusive re-air rights to games on ABC, ESPN, ESPN2, and ESPN Regional television programming.

ESPNU has secured distribution agreements with Cox, DIRECTV (Channel 609), Echostar's DISH Network (Channel 148), Insight Communications, Mediacom, Verizon, several smaller affiliates and is close to distribution agreements with others. The 24-hour television network is the key component of the multimedia ESPNU initiative that will also deliver college sports content across ESPN's family of services, such as ESPN The Magazine, ESPN Radio, ESPN360, merchandising and more.

About the West Coast Conference
The West Coast Conference first got its start back in 1952. Now, 55 years later, it's a marvelously cohesive athletics league, which is competitive at the national level in 13 sports, in its 27th season under its present eight-team mix.

The current members of the WCC span the western coast of the United States from Canada to Mexico, including Gonzaga, LMU, Pepperdine, Portland, Saint Mary's, San Diego, San Francisco and Santa Clara has remained unchanged since 1979, making the WCC the third most stable conference in the nation. Only the Ivy League and Pacific-10 Conference have been together longer.


October 25 - 8:00 p.m. (PST)

October 28 - 2:00 p.m. (PST)