{{ article.title }}

Three WCC Teams Selected For Postseason Play

Nov. 6, 2006

NCAA Tournament Bracket in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Three West Coast Conference women's soccer teams will represent the Conference in the 64-team NCAA Tournament, announced today by the NCAA Division I Women's Soccer Committee.

Santa Clara University, the WCC's automatic qualifier, was selected as one of four No. 1 seeds and will host first and second round matches. The No. 6 ranked University of Portland Pilots, the defending national champions, did not receive a top-16 seed, but are in the NCAA Tournament for the seventh consecutive season. Rounding out the WCC teams in the NCAA Tournament was Loyola Marymount, making its second postseason appearance.

The Broncos (15-4-1), making their 18th straight postseason appearance, will host USC (10-4-5), Nevada (13-4-4), and Stanford (13-6-1) in the first and second rounds at Buck Shaw Stadium on November 10-12. Santa Clara hosts the Women of Troy on Friday, Nov. 10 in first round action, while Nevada will face the Cardinal. The winners will meet on Sunday, Nov. 12. Santa Clara, which has reached at least the quarterfinals of the NCAA Tournament the previous 11 seasons, the longest streak in the nation, has advanced to the College Cup 10 times and took home the 2001 national title.

Despite being ranked in the top 10 in every major soccer poll in NCAA Division I women's soccer, the defending national champion Pilots (14-3-3) were not awarded a top 16 seed and must play on the road to open the tournament. UP travels to Salt Lake City, UT where the Pilots will take on BYU (13-2-4) in the first round on Thursday, Nov. 9th. The winner of the Portland-BYU match will take on the winner of the Utah (15-4-1) versus Idaho State (10-8-1) match in the second round on Saturday, Nov. 11. The Pilots have been crowned national champions in two of the previous four seasons.

Loyola Marymount makes its second trip to the NCAA Tournament, following the Lions debut in the postseason in 2002. LMU (10-2-6) takes on local rival Cal State Fullerton (11-7-2) in the first round on Friday, Nov. 10 at UCLA's Drake Stadium. The winner of the LMU-CS Fullerton match will take on either host UCLA or UNLV in the second round.

The Atlantic Coast and Big East lead all conferences with seven teams in the tournament. Five teams will represent the Southeastern Conference; four teams will represent the Big 12, the Big Ten and the Pac-10; and three teams will represent Conference USA, the Mountain West, and the West Coast Conference.

The 25th annual NCAA Division I Women's College Cup will be played December 1 and 3 at SAS Soccer Park in Cary, North Carolina. North Carolina State University, the Town of Cary, and the Capital Area Soccer League will serve as hosts.