{{ article.title }}

Four WCC teams begin quest for College Cup

Nov. 7, 2012

Complete Release Get Acrobat Reader | | WCC on Facebook | Top Play Tuesday

WCC Player of the Year Lindsi Lisonbee Cutshall | All-WCC 2nd team selection Carlee Payne Holmoe

SAN BRUNO, Calif. -- For the second straight season, four teams will represent the West Coast Conference in their pursuit of the College Cup. Top-seed BYU, 4-seed Portland, Santa Clara, and Pepperdine have all earned first-round home games.


  • With road wins at Loyola Marymount and Pepperdine, BYU won the 2012 West Coast Conference championship. The Cougars went unbeaten in conference play at 7-0-1.

  • For the second straight year and third time since 2005, the West Coast Conference has four teams competing for the College Cup. In addition to No. 2 BYU, No. 17 Santa Clara, No. 22 Pepperdine, and No. 24 Portland will all host first round games.

  • Portland and BYU led the nation in average home attendance. The Pilots averaged 3,379 fans per contest, and the Cougars averaged 3,351.

  • BYU senior Lindsi Lisonbee Cutshall is the WCC Player of the Year. Her teammates Michele Murphy (Freshman of the Year) and Erica Owens (Goalkeeper of the Year) also won major awards, voted on by the WCC coaches. BYU head coach Jennifer Rockwood was voted WCC Coach of the Year.

  • Portland junior Kendall Johnson is the WCC Defensive Player of the Year. For a complete list of All-WCC selections, see the attached release.

  • The University of San Diego will host the 2012 College Cup, marking the first time the event will be held on the west coast. Ticket information can be found on usdtoreros.com, or by clicking here .

  • West Coast Conference members have made 69 NCAA Tournament appearances, 19 Final Four appearances, and have won three national titles (Santa Clara in 2001, Portland in 2002, 2005).

    View the PDF above for complete notes and updated stats.