{{ article.title }}

Three WCC Teams Selected to NCAA Women's Soccer Championships

Nov. 8, 2010


The West Coast Conference has three teams, Portland, Santa Clara and San Diego, who will compete for the 2010 Women's College Cup after earning berths in the NCAA Women's Soccer Championships.

Portland earned a No. 1 seed and will host first and second round matches at Merlo Field. The Pilots face Texas-San Antonio (13-7-2), who is making its first NCAA postseason appearance, in the first round, Friday, November 12, at 7:30 pm. The other first round match-up features Washington (11-5-4) and Oklahoma (12-7-3) who face off at 4:30 p.m.

As a potential second-round match-up, Portland defeated Washington earlier this year, 2-1 in overtime, at Merlo Field.

Also competing in the Portland Region is San Diego (11-7-2) who faces Wake Forest (12-7-3) in the opening round in games to be played in Irvine, Calif., on Friday, November 12, at 5:00 p.m. The winner of that match faces the winner of UC Irvine (17-2-2) and Arizona State (9-7-3), who play their first-round contest at 7:30 p.m.

Looking toward a second-round possibility, San Diego lost at UC Irvine, 1-0, this season.

Santa Clara (12-6-2), which finished tied with San Diego, for second in the WCC, opens play in the Stanford Region against Long Beach State (14-5-2) in a match to be played Friday, Nov. 12 at 4:30 p.m. The other contest at that site features the top-ranked and No. 1 overall seed Stanford (18-0-2) against Sacramento State (9-9-1).

Earlier this year, Santa Clara lost at Stanford, 2-0. If they play each other in the second round, it would mark their eighth NCAA Tournament meeting.

Portland earned the West Coast Conference automatic bid to the tournament after posting a 6-0-1 WCC record for its fourth consecutive league championship and 12th overall. The Pilots carry a nine-match unbeaten streak into postseason play and have won 35 consecutive home games, the longest active streak in the nation.

The WCC has won three NCAA Championships, with Portland winning in 2002 and 2005, and Santa Clara taking the title in 2001.

The 2010 College Cup will be held in Cary, N.C. at WakeMed Soccer Park. The College Cup semifinals will be played on Friday, Dec. 3 and the championship game will be held on Sunday, Dec. 5.