{{ article.title }}

For the first time, three teams share WCC title

Nov. 9, 2013

| WCC on Facebook | TheW.tv | Interactive Schedule

SAN BRUNO, Calif. -- For the first time since the West Coast Conference began sponsoring women's soccer in 1992, three teams will share the conference title.  BYU, Portland and Santa Clara all won their matches on Saturday, and with a record of 8-1-0 in WCC play, each has earned a share of the 2013 West Coast Conference women's soccer championship. 

By virtue of the conference's tiebreaker policy, Santa Clara has been awarded the WCC's automatic berth to the NCAA Tournament.  Each of the three tied teams split their head-to-head results with the other two clubs.  The next tiebreaker utilized is goal differential in conference matches.  Santa Clara (+27) posted a higher goal differential than BYU (+14) or Portland (+12) against WCC foes, and thus the Broncos are the WCC's automatic qualifier.

All three teams will participate in the NCAAs, and the full tournament field will be announced on Monday at 1:30 p.m. PST/2:30 p.m. MST on NCAA.com.  The West Coast Conference has been a multi-bid conference in each of the 22 seasons in which it has sponsored women's soccer.

Saturday recaps:
BYUCougars.com: Cougars Clinch Share of WCC Championship with 6-1 Victory over Saint Mary's

PortlandPilots.com: Pilots Earn Share of WCC Title with 1-0 Win Over San Francisco

SantaClaraBroncos.com: SCU Claims Share of WCC Championship with 6-3 Victory at Gonzaga