{{ article.title }}

Three WCC Women's Soccer Teams to Compete in 2014 NCAA Tournament

Nov. 10, 2014

| TheW.tv | WCC on Instagram | WCC on Facebook


SAN BRUNO, Calif. - Three West Coast Conference teams will compete in the 2014 NCAA Division I Women's Soccer Championship as announced today. No. 15 BYU, the 2014 WCC Champions, will join No. 12 Pepperdine and San Diego in the field of 64.

This is the sixth straight season the WCC has sent at least three teams to the NCAA Tournament field.

A No. 4 seed, Pepperdine earned an at-large berth and will host an opening round match at Tari Frahm Rokus Field against local rival USC. BYU collected the WCC's automatic qualifier and will travel to face Colorado in the opening round. San Diego made the field for the first time since 2011 and will take on No. 1 overall seed and defending NCAA Champion UCLA in Westwood.

San Diego (10-7-2) takes on the Pac-12 Champion Bruins (18-0-2) Friday, November 14 at 7:00 p.m. at Drake Stadium. BYU (13-4-3) tackles the Buffaloes (13-6-1) in a Rocky Mountain showdown Saturday, November 15 at 11:00 a.m. (PT). Pepperdine (15-2-3) will welcome USC (12-6-2) to Malibu Saturday, November 16 at 12:00 p.m.

San Diego is making its 13th overall postseason appearance. The Toreros advanced to the 2011 Sweet-16 in their last entry into the NCAA Tournament. San Diego upset UCLA in penalty kicks to reach the round of 16.

BYU is set for its 16th overall showing and third as a WCC member. The Cougars advanced to the 2012 NCAA Quarterfinals and advanced to the second round of the 2013 tournament before falling to Colorado in Tallahassee, Fla.

Pepperdine makes its eighth NCAA Tournament appearance and will square off against USC. The Waves defeated the Women of Troy earlier this season by a 2-1 score.

In all, the WCC has made 75 NCAA appearances, culminating in 19 Final Four trips and three national titles. Portland won the College Cup in 2002 and 2005, with Santa Clara winning the title in 2001.