{{ article.title }}

Three WCC Women's Soccer Teams to Compete in 2013 NCAA Tournament

Nov. 11, 2013

| WCC on Facebook | TheW.tv | Interactive Schedule   WCC Final Regular Season Stats

SAN BRUNO, Calif. – Three teams shared the 2013 West Coast Conference championship and the trio will compete in the 2013 NCAA Division I Women’s Soccer Championship as announced today. 

A No. 4 seed, Santa Clara earned the WCC’s automatic qualifier by virtue of point differential, while BYU and Portland each captured at-large berths in the 2013 field. The Broncos (No. 8), the Pilots (No. 12) and the Cougars (No. 19) all entered the final weekend of the 2013 regular season ranked in the top-20 nationally in the NSCAA poll. 

Santa Clara (14-4-1) will host Bay Area rival California (11-4-5) Saturday, November 16 at 1:00 p.m. at Buck Shaw Stadium. BYU (14-4-1) hosts Big Sky Champion Weber State (10-4-5) in an in-state battle Friday, November 15 at South Field. Start time is still TBA. Portland (16-2-1) will welcome WAC Champion Seattle U. (17-2-2) to The Bluff Saturday, November 16 at 7:00 p.m. at Merlo Field. 

Santa Clara is set for its 24th NCAA Tournament berth and boasts a high-octane offense. The Broncos outscored its conference foes 36-9 and registered a 57-22 goals advantage against all opponents. 

Portland looks towards its 22nd postseason appearance in the last 23 years and allowed just five goals during WCC matches. The Pilots have advanced to the second round of the playoffs for 13 straight seasons. 

BYU is set for its 15th overall showing and second as a WCC member. The Cougars set the defensive standard in league play, allowing just four goals while posting a WCC-best six shutouts. The Cougars advanced to the 2012 NCAA Quarterfinals. 

In all, the WCC has made 72 NCAA appearances, culminating in 19 Final Four trips and three national titles. Portland won the College Cup in 2002 and 2005, with Santa Clara winning the title in 2001. 

The 2013 College Cup will be held at WakeMed Soccer Park in Cary, N.C.. The College Cup semifinals will take place on Friday, December 6, with the championship match on Sunday, December 8.