{{ article.title }}

WCC Announces 2014 Women's Soccer All-Conference Team

Nov. 11, 2014

| TheW.tv | WCC on Instagram | WCC on Facebook

2014 Women's Soccer All-WCC Team   Get Acrobat Reader

SAN BRUNO, Calif. - For the sixth consecutive season, at least three West Coast Conference teams have advanced to the NCAA Postseason and all were well represented on the 2014 All-WCC teams. No. 15 BYU, the 2014 WCC Champion, No. 12 Pepperdine and San Diego combined for 12 of 24 total spots on the first and second teams.

BYU sophomore forward Ashley Hatch and Santa Clara senior forward Sofia Huerta captured co-WCC Player of the Year honors, while BYU senior defender Annie Amos collected Defender of the Year accolades. Santa Clara junior Andi Tostanoski was tabbed as the Goalkeeper of the Year, while Pepperdine defender Hailey Harbison was selected as the Freshman of the Year.

BYU's Jennifer Rockwood and Pepperdine's Tim Ward shared Coach of the Year honors. It marks the second accolade in the last three seasons for Rockwood and is the third overall honor for Ward. It is the first season two coaches have shared the honor since 2001. All five individual awards - including the all-conference teams - were voted on by the WCC's 10 head coaches.

Hatch is the second Cougar in three seasons to take home WCC Player of the Year honors and the first since Lindi Lisonbee Cutshall in 2012, while Huerta is the ninth Bronco. Huerta is the second Santa Clara student-athlete in a row to earn top player honors, following Julie Johnston. Hatch (11 goals, 25 points) and Huerta (8, 18) ranked first and second in league goals and points. Hatch finished 2014 with a league-high 42 points (18 goals), while Huerta tallied 37 (17 goals) in the regular season, including a league-best six game-winners. This season marks just the second time in league history the top player honor has been split, the first coming in 2000.

Tostanoski was the final line of defense for a stingy Bronco defensive unit, which posted a 0.87 GAA during conference play. The junior elevated her game during WCC action, posting a 0.89 GAA with 39 saves and a league-high four shutouts. During the season, Tostanoski owned a 1.06 GAA with 74 saves and shared the WCC lead in shutouts with eight. The Goalkeeper of the Year award was instituted in 2011 and Tostanoski is the second Bronco to capture it, after Bianca Henninger secured the inaugural honor.

Amos is the first Cougar named Defensive Player of the Year. Amos helped BYU to a 13-match unbeaten streak. During the string, BYU recorded eight shutouts, five coming during league action. The Cougars allowed a WCC-low eight goals during conference play.

Harbison is the third Wave to capture Freshman of the Year honors and the first since current teammate Lynn Williams was tabbed in 2011. Harbison made an immediate impact on a young backline, which allowed eight goals and posted three WCC shutouts. Harbison is the sister of Pepperdine sophomore and second team All-WCC selection Meagan Harbison.

Rockwood lifted BYU (13-4-3, 7-1-1 WCC) to a top-15 national ranking and a WCC-best 13-match winning streak, following a 1-3 start. The Cougars claimed their third straight WCC title in 2014. Ward guided a Pepperdine (15-2-3, 6-1-3) squad that was unranked in the preseason to a journey up the polls reaching a peak of No. 7. Pepperdine posted a nine-match unbeaten string.

A perennial multi-bid conference, BYU, Pepperdine and San Diego will all represent the WCC in the 2014 NCAA Division I Women's Soccer Championship, starting Friday, November 14.

In all, the West Coast Conference has made 75 NCAA appearances, culminating in 19 Final Four trips and three national titles. Portland won the College Cup in 2002 and 2005, with Santa Clara winning the title in 2001.

2014 West Coast Conference Co-Coaches of the Year

Jennifer Rockwood, BYU and Tim Ward, Pepperdine

2014 West Coast Conference Co-Players of the Year
Ashley Hatch, BYU and Sofia Huerta, Santa Clara

2014 West Coast Conference Defender of the Year
Annie Amos, BYU

2014 West Coast Conference Goalkeeper of the Year
Andi Tostanoski, Santa Clara

2014 West Coast Conference Freshman of the Year
Hailey Harbison, Pepperdine


Player Yr. Pos. School
Jacqueline Altschuld So. M San Diego
Annie Amos Sr. D BYU
Ashley Hatch So. F BYU
Ally Holtz Sr. M Pepperdine
Sofia Huerta Sr. F Santa Clara
Heather Johnson Jr. M Gonzaga
Michele Murphy So. F BYU
Jessica Nakae So. M San Francisco
Andi Tostanoski Jr. GK Santa Clara
Allison Wetherington So. M Portland
Lynn Williams Sr. F Pepperdine


Player Yr. Pos. School
Brittany Ambrose So. F Santa Clara
Jenni Benger Sr. D Loyola Marymount
Jocelyn Blankenship Jr. M Loyola Marymount
Samantha Dion So. M Saint Mary's
Niki Fernandes Sr. F BYU
Meagan Harbison So. M Pepperdine
Elena Medeiros So. M BYU
Meghan O'Rourke Sr. D San Diego
Nikki Pappalardo Jr. F San Diego
Bizzy Phillips Fr. M BYU
Madalyn Schiffel Jr. GK San Francisco

Karley Baggerly, Gonzaga; Ellie Boon, Portland; Mariah Butera, San Diego; Haley DeGrood, Portland; Hanna de Haan, Portland; Hailey Harbison, Pepperdine; Morgan Hilby, Loyola Marymount; Jenna Holtz, Santa Clara; Alex Hussar, Pacific; Jessica Imbrie, Saint Mary's; Taylor Isom, BYU; Shannon Kent, Loyola Marymount; Noelle LaPrevotte, Portland; Cassidy Lynch, Saint Mary's; Jaciara Mello, San Francisco; Aliyah Miller, Gonzaga; Katey Pennington, Gonzaga; Hannah Seabert, Pepperdine; Vicki Shimkus, Saint Mary's; Emily Sippel, Portland; Christie Tombari, Gonzaga; Jamie Van Horn, Pepperdine; Bri Visalli, Pepperdine; Dani Weatherholt, Santa Clara; Amanda Whittle, San Francisco


Player Pos. School
Mia Costa D San Diego
Mariana Galvan F Santa Clara
Sonja Giraud M San Francisco
Hailey Harbison D Pepperdine
Jenna Holtz F Santa Clara
Taylor Isom D BYU
Tara Meier D San Diego
Bizzy Phillips M BYU
Sarah Sanger F Loyola Marymount
Jamie Van Horn D Pepperdine
Bri Visalli M Pepperdine