{{ article.title }}

LMU Favored to Defend PCSC Crown

Jan. 11, 2008

Coming off its most successful season in program history, the LMU softball team has been picked to finish first in the Pacific Coast Softball Conference preseason coaches poll, the conference office announced Friday. The Lions received 34 total points and four of the six first-place votes.

The 2007 Lions went 47-18, winning the PCSC with an 18-2 mark and advancing to the NCAA Tournament for the second time in school history. Once there, they recorded their first-ever postseason win then knocked out perennial power UCLA before falling in the regional final. In doing so, LMU set program records for victories and conference victories.

Under the guidance of Head Coach Gary Ferrin, the 2007 PCSC Coach of the Year, LMU returns 13 letterwinners from 2007, including PCSC Player of the Year Christine Foley, PCSC Pitcher of the Year Tiffany Pagano, and PCSC co-Freshman of the Year Melissa Dykema. In addition to those three, who were all named First Team All-PCSC, the Lions also bring back four players who earned All-Conference status last season in Kirsten Slouber (First Team), Tracy Cook and Megan Ackerman (Second Team), and MiaSarah Cesena (Honorable Mention).

Sacramento State, the 2007 conference runners-up, received the second-most number of points, 27, including one first-place vote. Portland State was third with 23 points, followed by Saint Mary's (17 points) and San Diego (14 points). Santa Clara received the other first place vote and was picked sixth with 11 points. Voting was conducted by the head coaches of each conference school, with six points awarded for a first-place vote, five for a second, and so on.

LMU opens its 2008 schedule February 7-9 at the Red Desert Classic in St. George, UT.