{{ article.title }}

WCC Announces Inaugural Softball All-Conference Team

May 13, 2014

| WCC on Facebook | TheW.tv  

2014 Softball All-WCC Team Get Acrobat Reader

SAN BRUNO, Calif. - After ranking in the top-three of nearly every offensive category, Pacific's Taylor Petty captured West Coast Conference Player of the Year honors. Senior San Diego righthander Cassidy Coleman earned conference Pitcher of the Year accolades, while first-year stars Sydney Broderick of BYU and Katie Moss of Saint Mary's shared the Freshman of the Year award. Senior infielder Kelly Scribner captured Defensive Player of the Year honors, while BYU's Gordon Eakin was selected as Coach of the Year by his peers. All five individual awards - along with the All-West Coast Conference First and Second Teams - were voted on solely by the league's six head coaches. 

Taylor Petty becomes the first Pacific student-athlete to capture West Coast Conference Player of the Year award in the Tigers return to the conference. Petty hit .383 with four doubles, three home runs and 18 RBI during league play. The senior turned in a .660 slugging percentage, batted .400 with bases loaded and .414 with runners in scoring position. 

Cassidy Coleman turned in a career season for San Diego as a senior and made history tossing the first no-hitter during league play in conference history with a 4-0 victory against BYU in the first-ever West Coast Conference game. Coleman went 8-2 against league foes, posting a 1.43 ERA. Opposing hitters managed a .169 batting average. A three-time WCC Pitcher of the Week, Coleman posted an 81/22 strikeout to walk ratio in 73.1 innings. 

Sydney Broderick and Katie Moss each enjoyed strong freshman campaigns for their respective programs. A two-time West Coast Conference Player of the Week, Broderick hit .383 with six doubles, one home run and eight RBI while slugging at a .574 clip. Broderick struck out just once in WCC play. Moss posted a 2-1 record with a 2.13 ERA in 13 appearances in the circle for the Gaels. Moss limited batters to a .186 batting average and struck out 36 while allowing just five walks in 26.1 innings during conference play. 

Kelly Scribner turned in a strong senior season at the plate for the Broncos and was nearly flawless defensively. Scribner handled a league-high 156 chances without an error and set the standard for putouts with 148. In addition, Scribner helped turn six Santa Clara double plays. 

Gordon Eakin earns his fifth Coach of the Year honor in the last six seasons. The Cougars posted a 12-2 conference slate and finished the regular season on a 15-game winning streak to capture the inaugural West Coast Conference Championship. BYU collected a pair of top-five victories, upending No. 2 Tennessee and No. 2 Oregon en route to a 33-21 overall record.

Of the 16-member All-West Coast Conference First Team, five appeared on the 2014 preseason All-WCC squad, while five made the WCC All-Academic Team. 

BYU will represent the West Coast Conference in the 2014 NCAA Postseason when it opens play in the Seattle Regional starting Thursday, May 15 when it takes on Northwestern. First pitch is set for 4:30 p.m. PT from the Husky Softball Stadium. 

2014 West Coast Conference Softball Individual Honors
Player of the Year: Taylor Petty, Pacific
Pitcher of the Year: Cassidy Coleman, San Diego
Co-Freshman of the Year: Sydney Broderick, BYU and Katie Moss, Saint Mary's
Defensive Player of the Year: Kelly Scribner, Santa Clara
Coach of the Year: Gordon Eakin, BYU


Player Yr. Pos. School
Tori Almond Sr. RHP BYU
Lauren Bell Fr. IF BYU
Breezy Bernard Jr. C Santa Clara
Sydney Broderick Fr. C BYU
Cassidy Coleman Sr. RHP San Diego
Stephanie Fisher Sr. OF Santa Clara
Gabby Goyette Sr. OF Pacific
Melanie Habib So. IF Pacific
Meghan Harman Sr. IF Loyola Marymount
Stephanie Maciel So. IF Loyola Marymount
Mercedes O'Connor Fr. OF BYU
Kylie Ordos Sr. IF San Diego
Taylor Petty Sr. OF Pacific
Caitlin Rooney Jr. IF San Diego
McKenzie St. Clair Fr. IF BYU
Kelly Scribner Sr. IF Santa Clara


Player Yr. Pos. School
Sara Anderson So. OF Pacific
McKenna Bull Fr. RHP BYU
Stephanie Crist So. UT Loyola Marymount
Alex Finie Fr. IF Loyola Marymount
Lollie Fitzpatrick So. IF Saint Mary's
Ciara Gonzales So. RHP Santa Clara
Andrea Hazel So. C Saint Mary's
Chloe Kaneko Jr. IF San Diego
Jenny Lahitte Sr. RHP San Diego
Katie Moss Fr. UT Saint Mary's
Erica Musgrave So. IF Saint Mary's
Lujane Mussadi So. RHP Saint Mary's
Dana Prelsnik Sr. OF San Diego
Ashlee Robinson Sr. IF BYU
Sterling Shuster Jr. IF Loyola Marymount
Nicole Zapotoczny So. IF Pacific