{{ article.title }}

LMU Completes Undefeated Dual-Meet Season, Honors Nine Seniors

Jan. 26, 2008

Complete Results

LOS ANGELES, Calif. - LMU completed an undefeated dual-meet season after downing the University of San Diego by a score of 140-122 to run its record to 9-0 on Saturday at Burns Aquatic Center. The undefeated season is the first in LMU swimming history.

On senior day, a day on which the Lions honored their nine seniors, in pursuit of perfection, it was fitting that seniors Angela Samuels and Alex Wike led the Lions to victory with 18 individual points apiece. Samuels took home first place in the 100 breaststroke with a time of 1:07.62 and the 100 butterfly in 58.19. Wike claimed her 18 individual points with back-to-back first place finishes in the 50 and 100 freestyle events.

LMU got the ball rolling in the right direction early, placing first and third in the 200 medley relay. The team of Kim McKay, Samuels, Mallorie Lim and Wike claimed first in 1:49.56 before USD took second in 1:51.92, followed by LMU's squad of Kristen Lutjen, Alyssa Geraghty, Alicia Royal and Liz Magura at 1:54.46.

The Toreros showed well in the 1000 freestyle, taking first, third and fifth-place points. Sarah Gleason touched the wall first for USD, owning a time of 10:41.42. Trinity O'Neill followed in second with a time of 10:49.89, followed two places later by Julia Hall in 11:03.05 to finish fourth.

Despite a USD first-place finish in the 200 freestyle, LMU fared well in the event by placing swimmers in second, third and fourth. Rebecca Plume touched first for the Lions in 1:56.69, followed by Alicia Witter (1:56.81) and Megan Sawelson (1:57.65).

The very close meet continued in the 100 breaststroke as USD battled back to claim the top-two spots in the race. Kristen Yoon, who led all swimmers with 27 individual points, claimed first in 59.85 before Aileen Fedrick claimed second in 1:02.06. Lutjen (1:03.07), Lim (1:03.10) and Royal (1:04.55) finished third through fifth for the Lions, in that order.

Samuels claimed her first individual victory in the 100 breaststroke with a time of 1:07.62, followed by USD's Haley Pittman in 1:10.04 and LMU's Geraghty at 1:11.30 in third. Magura claimed the final two Lion points in the race, nabbing fourth with a time of 1:11.90.

The Lions finished in second, third and fifth in the 200 butterfly, with Melanie Tansuwan finishing first for LMU in 2:12.83 to take second. Joy Miller won the race for the Toreros in 2:08.71, while McKay (2:13.70) and Katie Mistry (2:17.01) finished in third and fifth for the Lions.

After Wike claimed the top spot in the 50 freestyle with a time of 24.58, Alexa Cook touched in 25.08 to take second for LMU. USD's Justine Bartos and Kristina Levesque finished in third and fourth places, respectively, before Carolyn Pasque claimed fifth in 25.25.

After the first of two 15-minute breaks, LMU came out strong to sweep the top-three spots in the 100 freestyle. Wike touched first in 53.69, followed shortly by Sawelson at 54.36 and Pasque in 54.49. Not to be outdone, USD answered back to sweep the top-three spots in the 200 backstroke to negate any advantage LMU may have acquired in the previous event.

USD's Pittman claimed first place in the 200 breaststroke with a time of 2:27.28, followed by LMU's Tansuwan (2:31.96) and Geraghty (2:32.25) in second and third. Justine Elgas rounded-out the scoring five for LMU, claiming the single point in 2:37.90.

Once again showing her strength in distance freestyle events, Plume finished in first place with a time of 5:11.63 in the 500. Gleason followed in second for the Toreros with a time of 5:14.66 and Katherine Kiefer touched the wall in 5:22.67, which was good for third. Christine Gore and Danielle Garcia claimed the fourth and fifth-place spots for the Lions with times of 5:24.54 and 5:35.76, respectively.

Samuels claimed the second of her two first-place finishes in the 100 butterfly with a time of 58.19, followed very shortly by USD's Miller at 58.46. Lim claimed third for LMU in 59.79 and Gillian Ghazal took fourth with a time of 1:02.26.

LMU and USD alternated positions in the 200 individual medley, with Yoon finishing first in 2:13.12. Tansuwan was first to finish for the Lions, touching just a shade after Yoon at 2:13.57. Miller followed in third with a time of 2:13.80 and O'Neill took fourth for the Lions in 2:16.24.

LMU's 400 freestyle relay team of Witter, Pasque, Sawelson and Wike earned the top-spot in the final event of the day in 3:37.12. USD took the final two scoring positions with times of 3:40.73 and 3:47.91 after LMU's relay of Aja Kusao, Plume, Cook and Samuels were disqualified because of an early transition off the blocks.

Despite the "DQ," LMU held on to take the 140-122 victory over USD, wrapping-up a perfect season in dual meets. LMU will now take a break from action before entering the PCSC Championships on February 13. At last year's championships, Loyola Marymount swimming posted its best finish in program history, finishing second of 14 teams with 1049.5 points. In the conference championship's 17 swimming events, the Lions set new school records in 10 of them and new PCSC records in two. PCSC Championship triple winner Lauren Mathewson, along with teammates Morgan Finley, Wike, O'Neill, and Samuels were selected to the PCSC All-Conference Team following the meet. The five LMU selections marked the most swimmers the Lions have ever placed on the All-Conference team.