{{ article.title }}

San Diego Finishes First Season in the WAC

March 3, 2005

Complete WAC Championship Results in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Under the guidance of seventh-year Toreros head coach Mike Keeler, the University of San Diego Swimming and Diving program joined the Western Athletic Conference (WAC) in 2004-05. San Diego traveled to San Antonio, Texas in late February to make its first team appearance at the WAC Championships. Several USD student-athletes turned in outstanding times, however for the first time in three seasons the Toreros did not have any NCAA qualifiers.

The move into the WAC was a positive step for a USD program that won three Pacific Collegiate Swimming Conference (PCSC) Championships under Keeler's direction. Spanning San Diego's last six seasons and a member of the PCSC, USD shattered 18 of the school's 19 swimming records. San Diego also made its first team appearance at the NCAA Championships in 2003, placing 38th nationally.

In 2005 the WAC sent two teams to the NCAA Championships (Hawaii and SMU). In 2006 the WAC will welcome Idaho and New Mexico State as first-year conference members. SMU and Rice will leave the WAC next season and join Conference USA.

2005 Individual WAC Awards (as voted upon by the seven coaches in the conference)
Swimmer of the Year-Nicole Mackey, So., Hawai`i
Diver of the Year-Rui Wang, So., Hawai`i
Co-Freshmen of the Year-Melanie Schlanger, Hawai`i and Anja Carman, SMU
Diving Coach of the Year-Jim Stillson, SMU
Coach of the Year-Andy Johns, Northern Arizona

Final Team Scores
1. SMU 860
2. Hawaii 677
3. Nevada 539
4. Rice 476
5. Northern Arizona 417
6. San Jose State 261
7. San Diego 209