{{ article.title }}

Bracket Released for 2015 WCC Men's & Women's Tennis Championships

April 19, 2015

SAN BRUNO, Calif. - The West Coast Conference announced Sunday evening that University of San Diego and Pepperdine University earned the top seed for both the 2015 WCC Men's and Women's Tennis Championships, which will be hosted by San Diego, April 22-25, in San Diego, Calif. The Toreros men's tennis team finished the season with a perfect 9-0 conference mark, while the Waves women's program ended with an 8-1 record, which earned both squads the regular season title and a first round bye.

Teams seeded Nos. 7-10 on both sides will play the opening round on Wednesday, April 22 at Barnes Tennis Center. The first match will be contested at 9 a.m., followed by the second opening round matches starting at Noon.

On the women's side, Santa Clara will battle No. 10 LMU in match one. The Broncos earned the No. 7 seed after posting the same 3-6 league mark as Gonzaga, and due to head-to-head meeting during the regular season, the Bulldogs received the No. 6 slot. In their last meeting nearly three weeks ago (April 2), Santa Clara defeated LMU 5-2 at LMU Tennis Center. Meanwhile, No. 8 Pacific and tournament host No. 9 San Diego both posted a 2-7 conference mark are slated for match two on Wednesday at Noon to round out opening play. Match one winner will advance to play No. 2 Portland (7-2), while match two winner faces top-seed Pepperdine in match four and five, respectively on Thursday at 9 a.m. Elsewhere, No. 3 San Francisco (7-2) will square off against No. 6 Gonzaga in match three, and No. 4 Saint Mary's will also be in action against No. 5 BYU in match six. First serve is at Noon.

Pepperdine has claimed a league-best 24 titles with the last coming in 2014, and the most since dual format (1995) with 17 crowns. San Diego earned the title in 2012, while Saint Mary's claimed it in 2010, and LMU grabbed the award in 2002.

On the men's side, the top-seeded Toreros earned a first round by, and will battle the winner of match two between No. 8 Santa Clara (2-7) and No. 9 Gonzaga (2-7) which will compete on Wednesday at 9 a.m. The winner of match one between No. 7 BYU (3-6) and No. 10 Saint Mary's (1-8) will advance to play No. 2 Pepperdine (7-2) in the quarterfinal round on Thursday at 3 p.m. San Francisco (6-3) seeded No. 3 will meet No. 6 LMU in match three. In their last meeting (April 3), the Lions stumbled to then-ranked No. 57 Dons by 4-2 score. In the bottom half of the bracket, No. 4 Pacific (6-3) will faceoff against No. 5 Portland (6-3) in match four.

Pepperdine holds the most men's crowns with 18 and last won the title in 2013. Host San Diego, the reigning conference champ and regular season winner follows with two titles, since the open era of dual match play (1995).

Both the men's and women's championship finals will take place at 10 a.m. and 1 p.m. on Saturday.

Admission to the championships is free and open to the public.

Fans can catch ALL THE ACTION. ANYTIME. ANYWHERE.. on the The.Wtv from a computer, smart phone, tablet or TV for highlights, interviews, and so much more throughout the tournament.

Complete results of the 2015 WCC Men's and Women's Tennis Championships can be found on the event's official tournament central website.

Men's Tennis Bracket

Women's Tennis Bracket