{{ article.title }}

WCC Announces Women's Tennis All-Conference Team

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

April 23, 2008

WCC Announces Women's Tennis All-Conference Team
San Francisco's Jenni Heinser Named Both Player and Freshman of the Year

San Francisco's Jenni Heinser was named WCC Player of the Year and Freshman of the Year after helping the Dons finish in fourth place at the WCC Women's Tennis Championship last week. Heinser is the first netter in USF program history to receive either the Player or Freshman of the Year honors for women's tennis. Heinser is currently the highest ranked WCC player on the circuit, checking in at No. 79 in the ITA listing. Saint Mary's Lisa Alipaz was tabbed for WCC Co-Coach of the Year for the second consecutive year, after leading the Gaels to a second place finish at the 2008 WCC Championships. Hilary Somers of San Francisco was named Co-Coach of the Year, also the second time she has received the honor, after being named Coach of the Year in 2003.

Joining Heinser on the All-WCC first team is Pepperdine's Bianca Dulgheru, earning the conference honor for the fourth consecutive season. Fellow Wave Sylvia Kosakowski, who earned first team honors for the third straight year, and freshman Anamika Bhargava also check in on the all-conference team for Pepperdine. Joining the Waves are Loyola Marymount's Pavla Mesterova, the 2007 WCC Player of the Year, and Saint Mary's Jessica Hoath, also earning her third all conference nod.

Saint Mary's placed two players on the All-WCC second team on the heels of tying the program's best-ever finish at the WCC Championship, with Stef Ordoveza and Alex Poorta among the second team honorees. Portland's Megan Sporndli earned second team recognition, marking the first time in five years the Pilots have placed a player on the singles all-conference team, while Gonzaga's Aglaya Kokurina brought home the first singles all-confernce nod for the Zags in eleven years. San Diego's Helene Lindstrand and San Francisco's Mylene Martin round out the all-conference second team.

Two different programs were represented on the first team All-WCC doubles squad, with Pepperdine's 2007 All-American and current No. 10 duo of Dulgheru and Kosakowski and fellow Wave tandem, Braverman and Bhargva, joining Loyola Marymount's pairing of Tanner and Mesterova on the team.

Saint Mary's placed two duos on the second team, with Claire Soper and Alex Poorta earning the honor, as well as Femke Stribjis and Jesscia Hoath garnering recognition for the Gaels. Rounding out the doubles second team is the Portland tandem of Megan Sporndli and Lindsey Griffin.

Individual Awards

Player of the Year
Jenni Heinser, San Francisco
Freshman of the Year
Jenni Heinser, San Francisco
Co-Coach of the Year
Lisa Alipaz, Saint Mary's
Hilary Somers, San Francisco

2008 Women's Singles All-Conference Team
First Team

Anamika Bhargava, PEP
Bianca Dulgheru, PEP
Jenni Heinser, USF
Jessica Hoath, SMC
Sylvia Kosakowski, PEP
Pavla Mesterova, LMU

Second Team
Aglaya Kokurina, GON
Helene Lindstrand, USD
Mylene Martin, USF
Stef Ordoveza, SMC
Alex Poorta, SMC
Megan Sporndli, POR

Honorable Mention
Emily Anderson, GON; Tina Razloznik, LMU; Jill Braverman, PEP; Christina Feyen, POR, Lindsey Griffin, POR; Claire Soper, SMC; Jenny Sperry, USF; Maya Davoudi, SCU; Lindsay McBride, SCU; Carmen Pham, SCU

2008 Women's Doubles All-Conference Team
First Team
Tamara Tanner & Pavla Mesterova, Loyola Marymount
Bianca Dulgheru & Sylvia Kosakowski, Pepperdine
Jill Braverman & Anamika Bhargava, Pepperdine

Second Team
Megan Sporndli & Lindsey Griffin, Portland
Claire Soper & Alex Poorta, Saint Mary's
Femke Strijbis & Jessica Hoath, Saint Mary's

Honorable Mention
Tania Rice & Anete Bandere, PEP; Jenny Sperry & Emma Taylor, USF; Maya Davoudi & Lindsay McBride, SCU