{{ article.title }}

2009 NCAA Tennis Championship Singles and Doubles Selections Announced

April 30, 2009

San Bruno, Calif. - The NCAA Division I Men's and Women's Tennis Subcommittee selected the 64 singles players and 32 doubles teams that will compete in the 2009 NCAA Division I Men's and Women's Tennis Championships.

On the men's side, representing the West Coast Conference in singles will be Pepperdine's No. 35-ranked Bassam Beidas and WCC Player of the Year, No. 44-ranked Omar Altmann and San Diego's No. 52-ranked Dean Jackson. In doubles, No. 10-ranked Beidas and Altmann will pair up as a top eight seed out of the 32-team field.

San Francisco's No. 60-ranked Jenni Heinser, 2008 and 2009 WCC Player of the Year, will compete in the singles tournament as the sole representative for the women at the NCAA Tennis Championships. No women's doubles teams were selected.

The singles and doubles competition for the men and women will take place immediately after the conclusion of the 2009 Division I NCAA Tennis Team Championships. First matches begin on Wednesday, May 20 at the George P. Mitchell Tennis Center in College Station, TX, hosted by Texas A&M University. The tournament is scheduled to conclude on Monday, May 25.

For more details concerning WCC Tennis in the 2009 Division I NCAA Tennis Team Championships, please visit /sports/m-tennis/spec-rel/042909aab.html .