{{ article.title }}

WCC Announces Women's Tennis All-Conference Team

May 2, 2006

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

San Bruno, Calif. - Pepperdine's Bianca Dulgheru was named the WCC Player of the Year after leading the Waves to the program's fourth straight conference championship and 18th overall league crown last month. Dulgheru, the top ranked WCC singles competitor at No. 22 in the ITA listing, became the first Wave since Charlotte Vernaz in 2002 to receive WCC Player of the Year honors for women's tennis. Pepperdine's Gualberto Escudero and LMU's Jamie Sanchez shared WCC Coach of the Year honors, and Erin Young became the first Saint Mary's netter to take home WCC Freshman of the Year honors.

Joining Dulgheru on the All-WCC first team was San Diego's Emma Murphy, who received WCC Player of the Year honors following the 2004 and 2005 seasons. Pepperdine's Natalie Braverman earned her third All-WCC selection, while Saint Mary's Aude Lambert was named to the first team All-WCC squad for the second straight season. Pepperdine's Sylvia Kosakowski and Loyola Marymount's Pavla Mesterova were each tabbed for All-WCC honors for the first time.

Conference coaches selected a second team All-WCC squad for the first time in league history, and the team was filled with first-time honorees. Pepperdine's Merve Asimgil and Eva Dickes were named to the second team, while Saint Mary's also placed two players on the squad in Kate Harden and Jessica Hoath. LMU's Robyn Baker and San Diego's Jenny Brown round out the second team All-WCC selections.

Three different programs were represented on the first team All-WCC doubles squad, with Pepperdine's No. 18 ranked duo of Asimgil and Kosakowski joining San Diego's No. 36 ranked pairing of Murphy and Lauren Perl on the team. LMU's tandem of Baker and Mesterova were also named to the first team after earning a No. 50 ranking earlier this week.

Pepperdine's No. 31 ranked duo of Dickes and Dulgheru were named to the second team, and was joined on the squad by San Francisco's Jenny Sperry and Emma Taylor. Saint Mary's tandem of Jessica Hoath and Aude Lambert was also selected for second team recognition along with LMU's pairing of Patrycia Hubl and Erin Ivey.

Individual Awards

Player of the Year: Bianca Dulgheru, Pepperdine
Freshman of the Year: Erin Young, Saint Mary's
Co-Coaches of the Year: Jamie Sanchez, LMU & Gualberto Escudero, Pepperdine

2006 Women's Singles All-Conference Team

First Team
Natalie Braverman, Pepperdine
Bianca Dulgheru, Pepperdine
Sylvia Kosakowski, Pepperdine
Aude Lambert, Saint Mary's
Pavla Mesterova, Loyola Marymount
Emma Murphy, San Diego

Second Team
Merve Asimgil, Pepperdine
Robyn Baker, Loyola Marymount
Jenny Brown, San Diego
Eva Dickes, Pepperdine
Kate Harden, Saint Mary's
Jessica Hoath, Saint Mary's

Honorable Mention
Emily Anderson, GON; Patrycia Hubl, LMU; Sladjana Kos, LMU; Maja Sundac, LMU; Camille Pamart, USF, Mylene Martin, USF; Emma Taylor, USF; Myra Davoudi, SCU; Casey Knutson, SCU

2006 Women's Doubles All-Conference Team

First Team
Robyn Baker & Pavla Mesterova, Loyola Marymount
Merve Asimgil & Sylvia Kosakowski, Pepperdine
Lauren Perl & Emma Murphy, San Diego

Second Team
Patrycia Hubl & Erin Ivey, Loyola Marymount
Eva Dickes & Bianca Dulgheru, Pepperdine
Jenny Sperry & Emma Taylor, San Francisco
Aude Lambert & Jessica Hoath, Saint Mary's

Honorable Mention
Sladjana Kos/Maja Sundac, LMU