{{ article.title }}

Anderson Named WCC Honorable Mention

May 2, 2006

SAN BRUNO, Calif. - Gonzaga University sophomore Emily Anderson was accorded West Coast Conference women's tennis honorable mention honors Wednesday.

Anderson, who hails from Bradenton, Fla., and transferred to Gonzaga this season from American University, posted an 11-11 record at No. 1 singles and a 12-15 overall singles record for the Bulldogs this season. She won her only match that was completed in the recent WCC Championship, and was leading 7-6 after one set of another that was halted once the final team outcome had been determined by matches already completed. She went 4-1 overall against WCC competition this season.

Anderson becomes the fourth women's tennis player and the fifth Bulldog overall to earn WCC honors in the history of the program. Senior Angela Fry received honorable mention All-West Coast Conference honors in 2005, and Sarah Ust was the first woman to be named All-WCC in 2001, joined by men's tennis player, Eduardo Kohlberg in the same year. Jamie Buterbaugh was named honorable mention All-WCC for the women in 2004

Pepperdine's Bianca Dulgheru was named the WCC Player of the Year after leading the Waves to the program's fourth straight conference championship and 18th overall league crown last month. Dulgheru, the top ranked WCC singles competitor at No. 22 in the ITA listing, became the first Wave since Charlotte Vernaz in 2002 to receive WCC Player of the Year honors for women's tennis. Pepperdine's Gualberto Escudero and LMU's Jamie Sanchez shared WCC Coach of the Year honors, and Erin Young became the first Saint Mary's netter to take home WCC Freshman of the Year honors.

Joining Dulgheru on the All-WCC first team was San Diego's Emma Murphy, who received WCC Player of the Year honors following the 2004 and 2005 seasons. Pepperdine's Natalie Braverman earned her third All-WCC selection, while Saint Mary's Aude Lambert was named to the first team All-WCC squad for the second straight season. Pepperdine's Sylvia Kosakowski and Loyola Marymount's Pavla Mesterova were each tabbed for All-WCC honors for the first time.

Conference coaches selected a second team All-WCC squad for the first time in league history.

Individual Awards
Player of the Year: Bianca Dulgheru, PepperdineFreshman of the Year: Erin Young, Saint Mary'sCo-Coaches of the Year: Jamie Sanchez, LMU & Gualberto Escudero, Pepperdine

2006 Women's Singles All-Conference Team

First TeamNatalie Braverman, PepperdineBianca Dulgheru, PepperdineSylvia Kosakowski, PepperdineAude Lambert, Saint Mary'sPavla Mesterova, Loyola MarymountEmma Murphy, San Diego

Second TeamMerve Asimgil, PepperdineRobyn Baker, Loyola MarymountJenny Brown, San DiegoEva Dickes, PepperdineKate Harden, Saint Mary'sJessica Hoath, Saint Mary's

Honorable Mention

Emily Anderson, GON; Patrycia Hubl, LMU; Sladjana Kos, LMU; Maja Sundac, LMU; Camille Pamart, USF, Mylene Martin, USF; Emma Taylor, USF; Myra Davoudi, SCU; Casey Knutson, SCU

2006 Women's Doubles All-Conference Team

First TeamRobyn Baker & Pavla Mesterova, Loyola MarymountMerve Asimgil & Sylvia Kosakowski, PepperdineLauren Perl & Emma Murphy, San Diego

Second TeamPatrycia Hubl & Erin Ivey, Loyola MarymountEva Dickes & Bianca Dulgheru, PepperdineJenny Sperry & Emma Taylor, San FranciscoAude Lambert & Jessica Hoath, Saint Mary's

Honorable MentionSladjana Kos/Maja Sundac, LMU