{{ article.title }}

Toreros Release Their 2007 Spring Schedule

March 7, 2007

SAN DIEGO , Calif. - The University of San Diego women's volleyball team has announced its 2007 spring schedule and is set to begin play against the 2006 National Champion Nebraska Cornhuskers on March 16 inside the Jenny Craig Pavilion.

The Toreros will also be hosting a four-team tournament on March 24th on the campus of USD for all the local fans to get an opportunity to see the Toreros in action. Joining USD in the tournament will be Loyola Marymount, San Diego State and Southern Methodist University.  Below is a copy of the schedule for this tournament.


Court 1                                  Court 2

9:30am          USD vs. SMU                       LMU vs. SDSU

11:00am        USD vs. SDSU                    SMU vs. LMU

1:00pm          USD vs. LMU                       SMU vs. SDSU



The Toreros will then continue their spring schedule on April 14th as they compete in the UC Irvine Tournament, followed a week later in the Loyola Marymount Tournament on April 21st. 


The Toreros are coming off one of the most successful seasons in program history as they made a trip back to the Sweet-16 of the NCAA Tournament for the second time in three seasons, as well as claiming the WCC Championship for the second time in three seasons.  Kristen Carlson was named the WCC Player of the Year and both Laurel Abrahamson and Christie Dawson took home All-WCC first-team accolades.  Jessica Nyrop was an All-WCC honorable mention and Andrea Csaszi took home All-WCC Freshman team honors .