{{ article.title }}

Toreros to Compete in the POWERade Collegiate Beach Volleyball Championship

April 11, 2007

NEW YORK (April 11, 2007) - CSTV is partnering with the American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) and AVP to create the POWERade Collegiate Beach Volleyball Championship, featuring the nation's top women's collegiate volleyball players, who will compete for the title in San Diego on April 22 during The CSTV Collegiate Nationals. The CSTV Collegiate Nationals is a first-of-its kind event that crowns national champions in nine sports and will be held in Reno, Nevada on April 12-15 and in San Diego on April 20-22.

The POWERade Collegiate Beach Volleyball Championship features eight, two-person teams selected from top Universities and includes some of the nation's outstanding individual players and elite programs, such as NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Champion Nebraska and runner-up Stanford. The teams will square off in a round robin tournament. The complete list of teams and players is as follows:

#1 Nebraska - Sarah Pavan (All-American and AVCA Player of the Year) /Jordan Larson (All-American)#2 Stanford - Cynthia Barboza (All-American) / Bryn Kehoe (All-American)#3 Penn State - Nicole Fawcett (All-American) / Roberta Holehouse#4 Minnesota - Jessie Jones / Rachel Hartmann#5 Texas - Ashley Engle (All-American) / Alyson Jennings#6 Florida - Angie McGinnis (All-American) / Marcie Hampton#7 San Diego - Jaimarie Sutherland / Andrea Csaszi#8 Utah - Airial Salvo (All-American) /Sydney Anderson
* Based on 2006 AVCA All-American teams and rankings

"Along with our great partners the AVCA and AVP, we've taken the next step in developing the Collegiate Beach Volleyball Championship, turning it into an annual must-see event," said Tim Pernetti, Executive Vice President, Content, CSTV. "We're proud to have created this unique Championship as part of the Collegiate Nationals and are excited to showcase the nation's top college players and teams."

"The collegiate beach championship is an exciting event for volleyball," said AVCA Executive Director Kathy DeBoer. "It gives us a venue to spotlight our elite young players and provides the opportunity for year-round exposure for our sport. The innovative thinkers at CSTV and the AVP absolutely `served an ace' with this idea."

The POWERade Collegiate Beach Volleyball Championship will adhere strictly to NCAA guidelines for college volleyball.

In addition to volleyball, San Diego will host a collegiate film festival and Championships for flowboarding and wakeboarding. This year's Collegiate Nationals competition will again bring together athletes from nearly 100 different colleges and universities across the country and will ultimately crown National Champions in more than nine categories. For more information, visit www.thecollegiatenationals.com .