{{ article.title }}

Pepperdine's Kim Hill Named Finalist for 2011 Lowe's Senior CLASS Award

Oct. 12, 2011

OVERLAND PARK, KS (October 12, 2011) - Ten NCAA® women's volleyball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were selected as finalists today for the 2011 Lowe's Senior CLASS Award in collegiate volleyball. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence - community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by a media committee from the list of 30 candidates announced in August. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to determine the winner. Fans are encouraged to vote on either the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award website or the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award Facebook fan page through November 21. Fan votes will be combined with media and Division I head coaches' votes to determine the winner.

Lowe's, an official Corporate Partner of the NCAA, will announce the Senior CLASS Award® winner during the 2011 NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Championship, which will be played December 15 and 17 in San Antonio.

For more information on the finalists, visit seniorCLASSaward.com.

# # # #

Women's Volleyball Finalists
Rachael Adams, Middle Blocker, Texas
Lane Carico, Outside Hitter, Miami (Fla.)
Kanani Danielson, Outside Hitter, Hawaii
Kaylie Gibson, Libero, North Carolina
Sarah Havel, Middle Blocker, College of Charleston
Kim Hill, Middle Blocker/Opposite Hitter, Pepperdine
Kelsey Jewasko, Libero, Texas-San Antonio
Kelly Murphy, Setter/Right Side, Florida
Tarah Murrey, Outside Hitter, California
Darlene Ramdin, Outside/Middle Hitter, St. John's (NY)