{{ article.title }}

USF Volleyball Celebrates Tradition and Legacy at 30th Anniversary Banquet

Oct. 22, 2006


USF celebrates the program's 30th season of volleyball this season and honored the top-18 players in program history Saturday, October 21 when the Dons hosted Portland in West Coast Conference action. Fourteen former players returned to the Hilltop and War Memorial Gym - some for the first time since graduating - and watched USF dismantle Portland 30-18, 30-13, 30-26.

Following the match a special banquet was held to honor the accomplishments of the honorees and share memories of their exploits in the Green and Gold. The event welcomed more than 120 people to the burgeoning Handlery Room on the Lone Mountain campus.

USF Athletic Director Debra Gore-Mann opened the festivities with a welcome, followed by Dons head coach Jeff Nelson, who served as the banquet MC. Each member of the 30th USF Volleyball Anniversary Team shared memories of playing and encouraged current Dons to cherish the moments and memories.

Former USF Senior Associate Athletic Director Sandee Hill was presented with a special award, recognizing her nearly three decades of distinguished service to the University of San Francisco Athletic Department.

USF'S 30TH ANNIVERSARY TEAM: Laura Bertani, OH (1979-82); Brittanie Budinger, OH (2000-03); Jenny Boron, S/OH (1982-85); Kelly Harris, OH (1994-95); Tracy Harrison, MB (1982-85); Melanie Kaiser, OH (1988-91); Chiara Lawrence, MB (1993-96); Sharon Mellen, MB (1984-87); Jodi Princeton, OH (1992-93); Teresa Russell, MB (1999-2003); Jeanette Sargenti, MB(1994-97);Kathy Schindler, OH (1982-85); April Scoggin, S (2000-03); KeLicia Shorts, MB(2002-05); Laura Tinetti, MH (1997-2000); Lisa Tschannen, MB (1989-92); Stephanie Voelckers, OH (2004); Amanda Willnerd, OH (1998-2001)