{{ article.title }}

WCC Announces Women's Volleyball All-Conference Team

Nov. 21, 2006

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

San Bruno, Calif. - The University of San Diego, which clinched the 2006 WCC Championship two weeks ago, capped a near-perfect conference season by placing three players on the All-WCC first team, including senior Kristen Carlson, who took home the conference's Player of the Year award. Joining Carlson in the yearly awards is San Diego interim Head Coach Brent Hilliard, who garnered WCC Coach of the Year honors. Second-place Pepperdine snagged two awards as well, with setter Kiah Fiers taking home WCC Freshman of the Year honors and senior libero Kekai Crabbe earning the WCC Defensive Player of the Year award.

Carlson led the Toreros in both kills and digs per game in 2006, earning San Diego its second conference title in the past three years. The Purcellville, VA native is the fifth San Diego player to earn the league's top honor, joining the ranks of former Torero standouts Devon Forster (2004), Petia Yanchulova (1998, 1999) and Jennifer Wrightson (1994). Fiers, a native of Palos Verdes Estates, CA, helped the Waves to a second-place finish after setting them to a .261 hitting percentage in conference play in her first season as a Wave. Crabbe led the WCC in digs average this season, aiding Pepperdine in recording the lowest opponent hitting percentage in conference play. After taking the reins as interim head coach at San Diego during the offseason, Hilliard guided the Toreros to a 13-1 conference record and its fourth WCC championship in school history.

2006 WCC All-Conference Teams

Player of the Year: Kristen Carlson, USD
Freshman of the Year: Kiah Fiers, PEP
Defensive Player of the Year: Kekai Crabbe, PEP
Coach of the Year: Brent Hilliard, USD

First Team
Laurel Abrahamson, USD - JR, MB
Mandy Bible, SMC - SR, S
Kristen Carlson, USD - SR, OH
Anna Cmaylo, SCU - JR, MB
Kekai Crabbe, PEP - SR, L
Christie Dawson, USD - SR, MH
Kristin Hasselberg, USF - JR, OH
Heather Hughes, LMU - JR, OP/OH
Christina Kirk, SMC - SR, MB/OP
Kim McGiven, SCU - SR, OH
Sophia Milo, PEP - SR, MB
Julie Rubenstein, PEP - SO, OH

Honorable Mention
Gonzaga - Heather Dunn, Becky Jones
Loyola Marymount - Christianna Reneau
Pepperdine - Kiah Fiers, Rachel Lumsden
Portland - Murphy McClenahan
Saint Mary's - Missie Stidham
San Diego - Jessica Nyrop
San Francisco - Alix Gombos
Santa Clara - Caroline Walters

All-Freshman Team
Megan Burton, SMC - MB
Haley Carroll, USF - L
Andrea Csazi, USD - L
Lindsy Evans, SCU - S
Kiah Fiers, PEP - S
Rachel Lumsden, PEP - OH
Kayla Walker, PEP - OH