{{ article.title }}

WCC Announces 2009 Women's Volleyball All-Conference Teams

Nov. 24, 2009

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

San Bruno, Calif. - San Diego junior Ali Troost was awarded the West Coast Conference Player of the Year award for the Toreros, who have now taken home the award three out of the last four years. Loyola Marymount's Alaina Bergsma won Freshman of the Year, while Saint Mary's senior, Alita Fisher, brought home the Defensive Player of the Year award. The Gaels also took home the Coach of the Year award with Rob Browning winning the conference's top coaching accolade.

Troost led the team in kills with 357 on the season, while hitting .316 and also had a league leading 39 service aces. A WCC Co-Player of the Month in September, her 34 kills in a match against Santa Clara tied the league match-high for a five-set match. This also marks Troost's second consecutive appearance on the all-conference first team.

Bergsma had an outstanding first year for the Lions, leading the team in kills (416) and service aces (37). Her 4.47 kps ranked second among all freshmen in the country and 15th overall, while her 5.24 pps ranked ninth overall. She also finished the year tied for the league lead with 11 double-doubles on the season.

Fisher was the defensive leader for a Gaels team that allowed a league low .178 opponent hitting percentage, pacing the league with 5.23 dps during conference play. She enjoyed a record setting season in which she set a new career-high for digs in a season (452), while breaking the five year old Saint Mary's single-season record.

Coach Browning became just the second coach in program history to win the league's top coaching honor, joining Jim Cherniss who won the award in 1989, after leading his team to its first-ever conference championship and its best conference record in school history and an undefeated home record.

Pepperdine and Saint Mary's led the way, placing three players each on the first team. Kiah Fiers (PEP) made the team after earning honorable mention honors last year along with teammate Rachel Grochmal, while Kim Hill makes her first appearance after being named Freshman of the Year in 2008. Shannon Lowell (SMC), who makes her second consecutive all-conference first team along with teammate Megan Burton, just got edged out for the Player of the Year award, and joins Fisher who makes her first appearance. San Diego and San Francisco were next with two players on the first team. Troost is joined by teammate Torey Ellick, who makes her first all-conference team. Sarah Mandala (USF) and teammate Haley Carroll both had record setting years as Mandala became the fastest player in Dons history to reach 1,000 kills and Carroll became the WCC's all-time career leader in digs (2,091). Bergsma, the only freshman, and Lindsy Davigeadono (SCU) round out the 2009 All-WCC first team.

Player of the Year: Ali Troost, USD
Defensive Player of the Year: Alita Fisher, SMC
Freshman of the Year: Alaina Bergsma, LMU
Coach of the Year: Rob Browning, SMC

All-WCC First Team
Alaina Bergsma, LMU
Megan Burton, SMC
Haley Carroll, USF
Lindsy Davigeadono, SCU
Torey Ellick, USD
Kiah Fiers, PEP
Alita Fisher, SMC
Rachel Grochmal, PEP
Kim Hill, PEP
Shannon Lowell, SMC
Sarah Mandala, USF
Ali Troost, USD

All-Freshman Team
Victoria Adelhelm, PEP
Carrie Baird, USD
Alaina Bergsma, LMU
Lauren Corp, SMC
Dana Knudsen, SCU
Ariel Usher, POR
Missy White, SMC

Honorable Mention
Victoria Adelhelm, PEP
Michelle Boevers, GON
Layne Brosky, GON
Maria Clemens, POR
Lauren Corp, SMC
Kapua Kamana'o, SMC
Dana Knudsen, SCU
Kelsi Myers, USD
Stevi Robinson, PEP
Chanteal Satele, SMC
Megan York, SMC