{{ article.title }}

WCC Announces Women's Volleyball All-Conference Teams

Nov. 24, 2010

Complete Release in PDF Format

SAN BRUNO, Calif. --- San Diego's Ali Troost earned the West Coast Conference Player of the Year award for the secondconsecutive year, making it the fourth time in the last five years that a San Diego player has taken home the award. TheToreros' Chloe Ferrari garnered Freshman of the Year honors, while Head Coach Jennifer Petrie was named Coach of theYear. The Defensive Player of the Year award was shared by Portland's Danielle Dupar and Pepperdine's Stevi Robinson.

Troost led the conference in kills per set (4.22) and ranked 22nd in the nation in kills with 384 this season. She also owned one of the top hittingpercentages in the WCC with a .337 clip. Named the WCC Player of the Week five times this season, Troost was a pivotalpart of San Diego's 13-1 record that brought the Toreros their seventh WCC Championship in program history.

Ferrari made an immediate impact on the floor, ranking eighth in the nation in hitting percentage (.417) to top the conference'sstat category. The 6'2 freshman also tallied 277 kills for the Toreros this year and ended the conference season witha 29-kill, nine block performance to earn the season's final WCC Player of the Week selection.

Dupar and Robinson each collected Co-Defensive Player of the Year honors after combining for 977 digs this season. Duparended her Portland career by setting a new single-season school record for digs with 560 total, good enough to rank 13th inthe nation and smash her previous career-high of 365 set last season. Her 1,564 career digs rank fourth in school history.This is the second time Robinson has captured this award, being named the WCC Defensive Player of the Year in 2008.Robinson paced the Pepperdine defense all year, helping the Waves to its third place finish in the WCC standings with 417digs, while also adding 27 service aces on the season.

Coach Petrie was selected WCC Coach of the Year for the third time in her career with San Diego. Under her leadership,the Toreros have become one of the top volleyball programs in the nation and have competed in eight NCAA tournamentsover the last 10 years.

Click here for the complete list.

2010 Postseason Award Winners
Player of the Year: Ali Troost, San Diego
Freshman of the Year: Chloe Ferrari, San Diego
Co-Defensive Players of the Year: Danielle Dupar, Portland & Stevi Robinson, Pepperdine
Coach of the Year: Jennifer Petrie, San Diego

All-WCC First Team
Lauren Corp, SMC
Amy DeGroot, USD
Chloe Ferrari, USD
Lilla Frederick, PEP
Kim Hill, PEP
Gabby Jolly, SMC
Kapua Kamana'o, SMC
Shannon Lowell, SMC
Kelsi Myers, USD
Jasmine Rankins, LMU
Tanya Schmidt, SCU
Ali Troost, USD

All-Freshman Team
Joan Caloiaro, USF
Emily Cook, PEP
Chloe Ferrari, USD
Alyse Hensley, LMU
Natalie Loos, SMC
C'era Oliviera, USD
Kellie Woolever, PEP

Honorable Mention
Victoria Adelhelm, PEP
Joan Caloiaro, USF
Brittney Clark,PEP
Kaleigh Durket, SCU
Danielle Dupar, POR
Alyse Hensley,LMU
Kati Hronek, POR
Dana Knudsen, SCU
MarissaPlummer, POR
Allyson Powell, GON
Stevi Robinson, PEP
Missy White, SMC
Kelli Woolever, PEP
Megan York, SMC
Ariel Usher, POR