{{ article.title }}

Volleyball Headed to Knoxville for First Round of the NCAA Tournament

Nov. 26, 2006

SAN DIEGO, Calif. - The 17th-ranked University of San Diego women's volleyball team will head to Knoxville, Tenn. for the first round of the NCAA Tournament. The Toreros drew Jacksonville State University in the first round, which is set to begin at 2 p.m. PST on Friday Dec. 1.

San Diego, the 2006 West Coast Conference Champions, will be making their 11 trip to the NCAA tournament in the past 12 seasons. San Diego finished he season with a 24-5 overall record, a 13-1 record in the WCC and was awarded the No. 16 seed of the field of 64.

The Toreros capped their near perfect conference season by placing three players on the All-WCC first team, including senior Kristen Carlson, who took home the conference's Player of the Year award. Joining Carlson in the yearly awards is San Diego interim Head Coach Brent Hilliard, who garnered WCC Coach of the Year honors. USD's other first-team selections were Christie Dawson and Laurel Abrahamson. Jessica Nyrop was an All-WCC honorable mention and Andrea Csaszi was selected to the All-Freshman team.

The Jacksonville State Gamecocks, who became just the seventh team to make it through the OVC schedule undefeated, have been on a roll for the last several matches. They won 18 of their last 19 matches by sweeping their opponents, only losing one game in their last 58. They defeated Southeast Missouri in the regular-season finale, 3-1, snapping a streak of 49 consecutive games won.

Jacksonville State and the Toreros will open the four-team event in Knoxville on Friday, with host Tennessee and Duke playing at 4 p.m. PST. The winner of each match will face each other at 2 p.m. PST on Saturday to see who advanced to the Regional in Gainesville. Fla., from Dec. 8-9.