{{ article.title }}

WCC Announces Women's Volleyball All-Conference Team

Nov. 26, 2008

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

SAN BRUNO, Calif. - San Diego junior Amy DeGroot took home the West Coast Conference Player of the Year award after leading the Toreros to their third consecutive WCC championship, and the fourth in five years. DeGroot is joined by her coach, Jennifer Petrie, who won Coach of the Year, for her second annual award. This is the second time in three years that San Diego has swept the Player and Coach of the year honors. On the season, DeGroot won the conference's player of the week award three times, the most of any player this year.

Pepperdine walked away with the two remaining individual awards as Kim Hill won Freshman of the Year, and Stevi Robinson won Defensive Player of the Year. The Waves also took home the most awards, with nine overall, including three on the all-freshman team in Hill, Lilla Frederick, and Robinson. Julie Rubenstein was the sole Wave on the All-First team, making it her third straight selection. Hill and Robinson also received honorable mentions, making them the only players win three different awards.

Saint Mary's, San Diego, and San Francisco led the All-First team with three players each making the team. The Dons' Alix Gombos and Sarah Mandala both made the first team after receiving honorable mentions last year. They are joined by teammate, Carly Babin, who is making her first WCC All-First team selection. Kapua Kamana'o and Shannon Lowell of Saint Mary's made the first team, after being named to the all-freshman team last year. They are joined by Megan Burton to represent the Gaels. Emily Day of Loyola Marymount and Anna Cmaylo of Santa Clara took up the remaining two slots. For Day, it is her second time making the list and for Cmaylo, it is her third time in her four year career. DeGroot rounds out the multiple first-team honorees, with her second straight selection. DeGroot is joined by teammates, Jessica Nyrop and Ali Troost, who both made the WCC All-First team.

After Pepperdine, the remaining spots on the all-freshman team were taken by Ariana Covington (LMU), Marissa Plummer (POR), Chanteale Satele (SMC), and Tanya Schmidt (SCU). Layne Brosky and Elaina Renius represented Gonzaga on the honorable mention list, making this a year in which all eight schools were presented with at least one award.

Amy DeGroot, USD

Kim Hill, PEP

Stevi Robinson, PEP

Jennifer Petrie, USD

Carly Babin, USF
Megan Burton, SMC
Anna Cmaylo, SCU
Emily Day, LMU
Amy DeGroot, USD
Alix Gombos, USF
Kapua Kamana'o, SMC
Shannon Lowell, SMC
Sarah Mandala, USF
Jessica Nyrop, USD
Julie Rubenstein, PEP
Ali Troost, USD

Ariana Covington, LMU
Lilla Frederick, PEP
Kim Hill, PEP
Marrisa Plummer, POR
Stevi Robinson, PEP
Chanteal Satele, SMC
Tanya Schmidt, SCU

Layne Brosky, GON
Darcy Carroll, USF
Haley Carroll, USF
Andrea Csaszi, USD
Lindsy Davigeadano, SCU
Kiah Fiers, PEP
Ashley Grayson, POR
Kim Hill, PEP
Brittany Lowe, SCU
Rachel Lumsden, PEP
Elaina Renius, GON
Stevi Robinson, PEP
Jennifer Sheedy, POR
Becky Stehling, LMU