{{ article.title }}

West Coast Conference Announces 2013 Volleyball All-Conference Teams, Postseason Award Winners

Nov. 26, 2013

SAN BRUNO, Calif. --- For the eighth time in West Coast Conference history, the University of San Diego Toreros claimed the WCC regular season title. The Toreros also shared the most spots on the All-WCC First Team with Saint Mary's College as three players from each team earned all-conference honors.

San Diego's Chloe Ferrari was voted the 2013 WCC Player of the Year while San Diego Head Coach Jennifer Petrie was named 2013 WCC Coach of the Year. Loyola Marymount's Betsi Metter garnered Defensive Player of the Year honors for the third consecutive season, while Conference runner-up BYU's Whitney Young was voted the WCC Freshman of the Year, as voted on by the Conference head coaches.

Ferrari's WCC Player of the Year selection is the ninth time that a San Diego player has been awarded the Conference's top honor. After suffering a season-ending injury late in the 2012 season, the senior middle hitter came back strong to tally 299 kills with an impressive Conference-leading .435 hitting percentage, as well as 91 blocks and 79 digs.

Metter, the three-time WCC Defensive Player of the Year, ended her collegiate career for Loyola Marymount as a consistent defensive force for the Lions as she led the WCC in digs with 493 on the season, an average of 4.74 digs per set. In Conference play, she tallied 320 digs and added 27 service aces to lead the WCC in that category.

Freshman of the Year Young, a 6'0 middle blocker for the Cougars, led the WCC in blocks with an average of 1.55 per set (90 overall) in Conference matches. Thanks in large part to Young's immediate impact on BYU's defensive line, BYU topped the charts in blocks this season and placed second in opponent hitting percentage (.189 OH %).

Three-time Coach of the Year Petrie led San Diego to a 2013 Conference title after sharing the regular season title last year with BYU. San Diego won its last 15 matches of the regular season and looks to continue the momentum in the postseason, as the Toreros will represent the WCC in the 2013 NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Championship. The Toreros and other top WCC teams await their fate as tournament selections will be announced on Sunday, December 1 at 6:30 PM PT on ESPNU.

2013 WCC PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Chloe Ferrari, University of San Diego, SR, MH

2013 WCC DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Betsi Metter, Loyola Marymount University, SR, L


2013 WCC COACH OF THE YEAR: Jennifer Petrie, University of San Diego

Savannah Blinn Gonzaga University SO OH
Alaysia Brown University of San Diego JR OPP
Samantha Cash Pepperdine University JR MB
Dalas Dodd Saint Mary's College SO S
Chloe Ferrari University of San Diego SR MH
Kristina Graven Saint Mary's College SR OH
Alexa Gray BYU SO OH
Katie Hoekman University of San Diego SR MH
Kathryn LeCheminant BYU SR MB
Kathleen Luft Loyola Marymount University SR OH
Jordan Shaw Saint Mary's College SR OH
Valentina Zaloznik University of San Francisco JR MB

2013 All-WCC Honorable Mention Selections
Haley Cameron (SCU), Tambre Haddock (BYU), Gillian Howard (PAC), Madelyn Hutson (SMC), Litara Keil (LMU), Rebecca Kopilovitch (USF), Katie Messing (PEP), Betsi Metter (LMU), Taylor Milton (SCU), C'era Oliveira (USD), Ciara Parker (BYU), Kat Schultz (PAC), Becca Strehlow (PEP), Malina Terrell (USF), Autumn Wedan (POR)

Jillian Bergeson Pepperdine University L
Sabrina Clayton Santa Clara University OH
Lexi Elman University of the Pacific L
Nicole Hess Santa Clara University OH
Hunter Jennings University of San Diego DS
Makayla Lindburg University of Portland OH
Kiara McKibben University of San Francisco S
Lyndsay Palmer Gonzaga University S
Katarina Pilepic University of San Francisco OPP
Inbar Vinarsky University of San Francisco MB
Imani Wimbush Gonzaga University MB
Whitney Young BYU MB