{{ article.title }}

Four WCC Volleyball Programs Set to Compete in The 2014 NCAA Tournament

Nov. 30, 2014

| TheW.tv | WCC on Instagram | WCC on Facebook


2014 NCAA VB Bracket   Get Acrobat Reader

SAN BRUNO, Calif. - Four West Coast Conference volleyball programs advanced to the 2014 NCAA Tournament as released today. No. 12 BYU, the 2014 WCC Regular Season Champions will join Loyola Marymount, San Diego and Santa Clara.

This is the largest contingent of WCC programs to advance to the NCAA Postseason since 2012 when BYU, Loyola Marymount, Pepperdine, Saint Mary's, San Diego and Santa Clara qualified.

BYU (25-4, 16-2 WCC)
BYU will play against the Pirates in the first round and the winner will compete against the winner of the match between No. 11 seed Arizona and Yale. BYU and Seton Hall will play Thursday at 5 p.m. MST with Arizona and Yale playing Thursday at 7 p.m. MST. The winners will play Friday at 6 p.m. MST in the second round.

BYU, Seton Hall, Arizona and Yale are part of the Seattle Region. Saturday's winner will advance to the regional semifinals on Dec. 12 at Washington.

The last time the Cougars played in the NCAA tournament was in 2013, when they made it to the regional semifinals against No. 6 USC. BYU has made it to the regional semifinals in each of the past two seasons.

Loyola Marymount volleyball earned its second at-large bid in the last three years into the NCAA Division I Championship, and will open play Friday, December 5, against Michigan State (18-13) at Stanford University. Friday's match will be played at 4:30 pm PT. LMU is one of four West Coast Conference teams to make the tournament, including WCC Champion BYU, Santa Clara and San Diego.

The Lions (23-7) are making their 12th NCAA appearance. LMU last appeared in the NCAA Tournament in 2012, dropping a first-round match to Western Kentucky at Stanford.

SAN DIEGO (19-11, 12-6 WCC)
The University of San Diego women's volleyball team has earned an at large birth into the NCAA Tournament, and will head up to UCLA this weekend to compete in the first and second rounds. On Friday, the Toreros will take on No. 16 Long Beach State in a 5:30 p.m. match. The winner of this match will take on the winner of the LIU Brooklyn and No. 17 UCLA match on Saturday at 7 p.m.

San Diego is making its 18th appearance in the NCAA Tournament and fifth consecutive trip. The Toreros are 13-17 all-time in the tournament and have advanced to the Sweet 16 three times, in the 2004, 2006, and 2013 seasons. USD has faced Long Beach State four times in the NCAA Tournament, posting a 3-1 record against them, including winning the last three postseason matches ups. USD has faced UCLA three times in the NCAA Tournament, and lost all three of those meetings, and USD has never faced LIU Brooklyn in the postseason.

SANTA CLARA (22-9, 12-6 WCC)
The Santa Clara volleyball team received the school's 15th NCAA tournament bid on Sunday and will play at No. 13 Oregon at 7 pm on Thurs., Dec. 4. LSU and Oklahoma will play in the match prior to that and the winners will advance to a 4 pm match on Fri., Dec. 5 at Oregon.

Friday's winner will advance to the Minneapolis Regional the next weekend with the Final Four being hosted in Oklahoma City.The Broncos have made the NCAA tournament 12 times under head coach Jon Wallace, including their last berth in 2012.

FROM BYUCougars.com, LMULions.com, USDToreros.com and SantaClaraBroncos.com