{{ article.title }}

Women's Volleyball Sends Five Teams to NCAA Tournament

Nov. 30, 2008

Interactive Bracket Printable Bracket

The NCAA announced the field of 64 teams for the 2008 women's volleyball national championships Sunday night, and the West Coast Conference received five bids, the most since it received six back in 2003. This marks the 12th year in a row that the WCC has sent multiple teams to the postseason as it has sent at least three teams every year since 1997, making it one of the strongest conferences in the country. The five teams also marks the highest percentage (62.5%) of teams that any conference got into this year's tournament. The Pac-10 (62.5%) and Big Ten (50%) were the next closest as the Pac-10 received six bids and the Big Ten had five. Out of the 64 teams in the tournament, 33 got in by virtue of an at-large bid, as the other 31 spots were taken by individual conference champions in the form of an automatic qualifier.

By winning the WCC regular season title, the San Diego Toreros received the conference's automatic qualifier to the tournament. San Francisco, Saint Mary's, Pepperdine, and Santa Clara round out the rest of the invitees. All five teams had NCAA RPI's at or below 50 in the latest report, with San Diego (16), Pepperdine (23), and San Francisco (24) ending the season ranked in the American Volleyball Coaches Association's (AVCA) top 25 poll.

The first and second rounds of the tournament are scheduled to take place on December 5th and 6th. Below is the schedule for the five WCC teams competing this year:


December 5-6 at Los Angeles, California (Friday-Saturday)
No. 7 Hawaii (28-3) vs. Belmont (25-7), 5:00 p.m.
San Diego (23-4) vs. *Southern California (16-11), 7:00 p.m.
(Second Round: Saturday at 7:00 p.m.)

December 5-6 at Stanford, California (Friday-Saturday)
Pepperdine (20-7) vs. Long Beach St. (25-5), 4:30 p.m.
Albany (N.Y.) (23-8) vs. *No. 2 Stanford (26-3), 7:00 p.m.
(Second Round: Saturday at 7:00 p.m.)


December 5-6 at Berkeley, California (Friday-Saturday)
New Mexico St. (25-8) vs. St. Mary's (Cal.) (20-7), 6:00 p.m.
Siena (20-12) vs. *No. 8 California (23-6), 8:00 p.m.
(Second Round: Saturday at 8:00 p.m.)


December 5-6 at Los Angeles, California (Friday-Saturday)
San Francisco (22-7) vs. Duke (24-8), 5:30 p.m.
LSU (18-9) vs. *No. 14 UCLA (20-10), 8:00 p.m.
(Second Round: Saturday at 7:00 p.m.)


December 5-6 at Seattle, Washington (Friday-Saturday)
*No. 5 Washington (24-4) vs. Portland St. (20-8), 4:00 p.m.
Santa Clara (17-9) vs. Kansas St. (24-7), 2:00 p.m.
(Second Round: Saturday at 2:00 p.m.)