{{ article.title }}

Two Teams to Compete in 2013 NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Tournament

Dec. 1, 2013

SAN BRUNO, Calif. --- The NCAA announced the team field for the 2013 NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Tournament. Two teams, BYU and University of San Diego, will represent the West Coast Conference with competition beginning on Thursday, December 5th.

The BYU women's volleyball team received an at-large bid to the 2013 NCAA Tournament and will travel to Hawaii to take on Arizona State in the first round on Thursday. The Cougars (22-6, 15-3 West Coast Conference) will play against Arizona State in the first round and the winner will play the winner of the match between No. 11 Hawaii and Idaho State. BYU will play at 5 p.m. HST while Hawaii and Idaho State will face off at 7:30 p.m. HST. The winners will play Friday at 10 p.m. HST in the second round of the tournament.

The Cougars have advanced to the NCAA tournament for the second-straight season. In 2012, BYU hosted the first and second rounds and advanced to the regional semifinals, before losing to No. 5 seed Oregon.

Eighth-ranked San Diego earned the No. 9 seed in the NCAA Tournament and will host the first and second rounds at the Jenny Craig Pavilion. On Friday, the Toreros will take on UC Santa Barbara at 7:30 p.m., immediately after University of Arizona and New Mexico State University face off at 5 p.m. The winners of each match will play on Saturday at 7 p.m. to advance to the Sweet 16.

San Diego, the 2013 WCC Champions, enter the tournament with a program best 24-3 overall record and closed the season on a 15-match winning streak, including defeating BYU in the WCC title match in front of a record crowd of 2,045 on Nov. 23. The Toreros (24-3, 16-2 West Coast Conference) are led by WCC Player of the Year Chloe Ferrari, a senior middle hitter who recorded 299 kills with an impressive conference-leading .435 hitting percentage, as well as 91 blocks and 79 digs.

Courtesy of BYU and San Diego Sports Information